Header

Procedures

When is the best time for a mobility semester? What are the prerequisites? A mobility semester requires a good deal of planning – make sure you start early enough. Here you will find everything important to consider when planning.

Checklist

In the following document you will find a checklist with all important steps for an application as an exchange student:

Checklist (PDF, 479 KB)

Timing

At Bachelor's level, we recommend the fifth semester for a semester abroad; at Master's level, the third semester is recommended. The assessment level must be successfully completed before the start of the exchange semester.

If you do an exchange semester shortly before your graduation, please note that the official transcript of records from the host university must be available at the latest on the registration deadline for graduation.

Selecting a university

Find out about the existing programs and partner universities. First-hand reports from former mobility students will also give you a first impression. These can be found on the Global Student Experience (GSE) website:

Partner universities
First-hand reports

Research the semester dates, language of instruction and course offerings of the universities that you are considering.

Application

There is only one guaranteed application deadline per year for the entire subsequent academic year (fall and spring semesters): 1 November to 15 January. If available, any free offerings for spring semester are posted again in July. Information for the second nomination period (for the remaining FS places) will be sent by e-mail at the end of May each year. It is possible and recommended that you apply for multiple mobility programs. Contact persons and helpful documents for the application can be found on this page.

Students apply online via the Mobility Online application platform run by the Global Student Experience (GSE) Office. The application platform is open from 1 November 2022. The application deadline for fall semester 2023 and spring semester 2024 is on 15 January 2023

Please use the link below to apply for the 2023/2024 academic year:

Mobility Online Registration
Mobility-Online Login (to edit application)

Application documents

For a complete and correct application, you must upload the following documents to the UZH Mobility-Online platform:

  • Student information sheet (PDF, 966 KB)
  • Curriculum vitae
  • Motivation letter (1 A4 page) in German or English
  • Proof of matriculation at UZH
  • Copy of current transcript of records
  • Proof of language skills: Very good language skills in the language of instruction are required (level B2). If you apply for an exchange program coordinated by our Faculty, it is sufficient to demonstrate the relevant language skills in a plausible way (e.g., Swiss university entrance qualification, enrollment in one of our English-language Master's programs). In the case that a partner university requires a more advanced language level (C1) or only accepts certain certificates, it is the responsibility of the student to produce this on time.
  • If available: Academic Record from Bachelor's degree
  • Copy of passport or national identity card (foreign students must also include their residence permit)
  • Passport photo (max. 500x500 pixel)

The nominees will be selected by the Faculty of Business, Economics and Informatics by mid-February 2022.

Nomination and application to a partner university

After you have successfully applied for an offering, you must be nominated by the relevant UZH offices. The final decision on admission comes from the respective partner university. As a rule, students who are nominated are accepted. Be aware, however, that applying to the partner university is a separate application process. The partner university may require some of the same documents required by UZH. These always include a copy of your current transcript of records in German and English. Older documents, which you haven't automatically received in English, can be translated using the templates in the download area at right.

Abstention / Cancelation

Registration is binding. Changes may only be made for a compelling reason and must be explained to the partner university, the Dean's Office of the Faculty of Business, Economics and Informatics, as well as the Global Student Experience (GSE) Office of UZH in writing.

Transferring credit

The eligibility for transfer of credits must necessarily be clarified by concluding a credit-transfer agreement. This is done after nomination for a specific partner university and before the semester abroad is actually started. The credit-transfer agreement need not be uploaded to Mobility Online.

Transferring credit

Proof of language skills

A mobility semester should not be considered a language studies program. Very good language skills in the language of instruction are required (level B2). If you apply for an exchange program coordinated by the Faculty of Business, Economics and Informatics, it is sufficient to demonstrate the relevant language skills in a plausible way (e.g., Swiss university entrance qualification, enrollment in one of our English-language Master's programs or the like). In the case that a partner university requires a more advanced language level (C1) or only accepts certain certificates, it is the responsibility of the student to produce this on time.

Exceptions for Faculty agreements: Applications for the Faculty agreements with the USA, Canada, and Singapore must include valid TOEFL or IELTS certificates.

Good language skills in the language of the country are an advantage. In some cases language tests must be completed in the semester prior to the application period.

Language preparation

Financing

During the course of a mobility semester, you remain enrolled at UZH and continue to pay semester fees here; you are exempted from paying tuition fees at the partner university. The SEMP Programme and some university-wide agreements include partial grants. You will find information on additional financing possibilities on the Global Student Experience (GSE) website.

Financing possibilities

We are awarding a scholarship for 2500 CHF for the exchange semester HS23 or FS24 for a student with an exchange place at University of São Paulo (Brazil). You do not need to apply separately for the scholarship, indicating the university as a priority is sufficient.

________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Richard_Müller_Winter

Contact
Richard Müller-Winter
Mobility Office
Dean's Office
E-Mail

For questions regarding the univeristy-wide agreements: 
Global Student Experience UZH E-Mail / Website

Nicola Wenning

Contact for questions about credit transfer
Nicola Wenning
Transfer of External Coursework
Dean's Office
E-Mail

Header

Vorgehen

Wann ist der beste Zeitpunkt für ein Mobilitätssemester? Was sind die Voraussetzungen? Ein Mobilitätssemester benötigt einiges an Planung  fangen Sie früh genug damit an. Hier finden Sie alles Wichtige, was es bei der Planung zu beachten gilt.

Checkliste

Im folgenden Dokument finden Sie eine Checkliste mit allen wichtigen Schritten für eine Bewerbung als Austauschstudentin oder Austauschstudent:

Checkliste (PDF, 561 KB)

Zeitpunkt

Falls Sie im Bachelorstudium sind, empfiehlt sich das 5. Semester für den Austausch, auf Master-Stufe das 3. Semester. In jedem Fall muss bei Antritt des Mobilitätssemesters die Assessmentstufe erfolgreich absolviert sein.

Falls Sie das Mobilitätssemester erst kurz vor Studienabschluss absolvieren, beachten Sie bitte, dass der offizielle Leistungsausweis der Gastuniversität spätestens bei Anmeldeschluss zum Studienabschluss vorliegen muss.

Wahl der Universität

Informieren Sie sich über die bestehenden Programme und Partneruniversitäten. Einen ersten Eindruck vermitteln auch die Erfahrungsberichte von ehemaligen Mobilitätsstudierenden auf der Webseite der Abteilung Global Student Experience (GSE):

Partneruniversitäten
Erfahrungsberichte

Recherchieren Sie Informationen zu Semesterdaten, Unterrichtssprache und Kursangebot der Universitäten, die für Sie in Frage kommen.

Bewerbung

Es gibt nur eine garantierte Bewerbungsfrist pro Jahr für das gesamte folgende akademische Jahr (Herbst- und Frühlingssemester). Im Juli werden nach Möglichkeit die Restplätze für das Frühlingssemester nochmals ausgeschrieben. Bewerbungen für mehrere Mobilitätsprogramme sind möglich und empfohlen. Ansprechpersonen sowie hilfreiche Dokumente für die Bewerbung finden Sie auf dieser Seite.

Informationen für die Nachnominierungsfrist (für Restplätze FS23) werden Ende Mai per E-Mail versandt. Das Anmeldefenster ist vom 1. Juni bis am 15. Juli 2022 geöffnet. (Hinweis: Wir vergeben für das Austauschsemester FS23 ein Stipendium für einen Studenten oder eine Studentin mit einem Austauschplatz an der Chulalongkorn Universität in Thailand.)

Restplatzliste Übersee / Europa (XLSX, 13 KB)
Restplatzliste SEMP Europa (XLSX, 14 KB)

Die Bewerbung erfolgt online über das Bewerbungsportal Mobility Online der Abteilung Global Student Experience (GSE). Das Portal ist ab dem 1. November 2022 geöffnet. Die Bewerbungsfrist für das Herbstsemester 2023 und Frühjahrsemester 2024 endet am 15. Januar 2023.

Den Link für die Anmeldung für das akademische Jahr 2023/2024 finden Sie nachfolgend:

Mobility-Online Registrierung
Mobility-Online Login (um Bewerbung zu bearbeiten)

Bewerbungsunterlagen

Für eine vollständige und korrekte Bewerbung müssen Sie folgende Dokumente im Mobility-Online Portal der UZH hochladen:

  • Übersichtsblatt (PDF, 966 KB)
  • Lebenslauf
  • Motivationsschreiben (1 A4-Seite) in deutsch oder englisch
  • Nachweis über die Immatrikulation an der UZH
  • Kopie des aktuellen Leistungsausweises
  • Sprachnachweis: Es werden sehr gute Kenntnisse der Unterrichtssprache vorausgesetzt (Niveau B2). Bei der Bewerbung bei uns um einen Austauschplatz genügt die plausible Darstellung der entsprechenden Sprachkenntnisse (z.B. CH-Matur, Einschreibung in einen unserer englischsprachigen Masterstudiengänge). Verlangt eine Partneruniversität einen Nachweis über ein höheres Sprachniveau (C1) oder akzeptiert sie nur gewisse Zertifikate, liegt es in der Verantwortung jedes Einzelnen, dies rechtzeitig vorweisen zu können.
  • Falls vorhanden: Bachelor-Abschlusszeugnis
  • Kopie des Passes oder der Identitätskarte (bei ausländischer Staatsbürgerschaft auch die Aufenthaltsbewilligung beilegen)
  • Passfoto (max. 500x500 Pixel)

Die Nominierung erfolgt durch die Wirtschaftswissenschaftliche Fakultät bis Mitte Februar 2022.

Nominierung und Anmeldung an der Partneruniversität

Nachdem Sie sich erfolgreich für einen Platz beworben haben, erfolgt die Nominierung durch die entsprechenden Stellen der UZH. Der definitive Zulassungsentscheid liegt bei der entsprechenden Partneruniversität. In der Regel werden nominierte Studierende akzeptiert. Seien Sie sich aber bewusst, dass die Anmeldung an der Partneruniversität ein separates Anmeldeverfahren darstellt. Die Partneruniversität benötigt z. T. dieselben Unterlagen wie die UZH. Dazu gehört immer eine Kopie des aktuellen Leistungsausweises in Deutsch und Englisch. Vorlagen für eine Übersetzung von älteren Dokumenten, die Sie nicht automatisch auch auf Englisch erhalten haben, sind im Download-Bereich rechts zu finden.

Nichtantreten / Abmeldung

Eine Anmeldung ist verbindlich. Jegliche Änderungen sind nur aus gewichtigen Gründen möglich und müssen der Partneruniversität, dem Dekanat der Wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Fakultät sowie der Abteilung Global Student Experience (GSE) der UZH – schriftlich begründet – mitgeteilt werden.

Anrechnung

Die Anrechenbarkeit von Kursen ist zwingend mit einer Anrechnungsvereinbarung abzuklären. Dies geschieht nach der Nominierung für eine bestimmte Partneruniversität und vor dem tatsächlichen Antreten des Mobilitätssemesters. Die Anrechnungsvereinbarung muss nicht in Mobility Online hochgeladen werden.

Anrechnung

Sprachnachweise

Ein Mobilitätssemester ist kein Sprachaufenthalt. Es werden sehr gute Kenntnisse der Unterrichtssprache vorausgesetzt (Niveau B2). Bei der Bewerbung um einen Austauschplatz der Wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Fakultät genügt die plausible Darstellung der entsprechenden Sprachkenntnisse (z.B. CH-Matur, Einschreibung in einen unserer englischsprachigen Masterstudiengänge u.ä.). Verlangt eine Partneruniversität einen Nachweis über ein höheres Sprachniveau (C1) oder akzeptiert sie nur gewisse Zertifikate, liegt es in der Verantwortung jedes Einzelnen, dies rechtzeitig vorweisen zu können.

Ausnahme Fakultätsabkommen: Für Bewerbungen auf die Fakultätsabkommen in Kanada, Singapore und der USA sind gültige TOEFL- oder IELTS-Zertifikate beizulegen.

Gute Kenntnisse der Landessprache sind von Vorteil. Sprachtests müssen unter Umständen bereits im Semester vor der Bewerbungsfrist abgelegt werden.

Sprachvorbereitung

Finanzierung

Im Rahmen eines Mobilitätssemesters bleiben Sie während des Auslandaufenthaltes an der UZH eingeschrieben, bezahlen hier weiterhin die Semestergebühren und sind an der Partneruniversität von den Studiengebühren befreit. Das SEMP-Programm sowie einzelne gesamtuniversitäre Abkommen entrichten Teilstipendien. Informationen zu weiteren Finanzierungsmöglichkeiten finden Sie auf der Webseite der Abteilung Global Student Experience (GSE).

Finanzierungsmöglichkeiten

Wir vergeben für das Austauschsemester HS22 oder FS23 ein Stipendium für einen Studenten oder eine Studentin mit einem Austauschplatz an der Chulalongkorn Universität (Thailand).

Übersetzung Abschlussdokumente

Heute erhalten die Studierenden alle Abschlussdokumente sowohl in deutscher als auch in englischer Sprache.
Für die Übersetzung von älteren Dokumenten, die Ihnen nicht automatisch auch in Englisch zur Verfügung gestellt wurden, benützen Sie bitte folgende Vorlagen:

Vorlage Übersetzung Bachelor Leistungsausweis (DOCX, 35 KB)
Vorlage Übersetzung Master Leistungsausweis (DOCX, 32 KB)
Vorlage Übersetzung Bachelor Academic Record (DOCX, 48 KB)
Vorlage Übersetzung Pflichtkanon (DOCX, 23 KB)

________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Richard_Müller_Winter

Kontakt bei Fragen zur Bewerbung und Nominierung
Richard Müller-Winter
Mobilitätsstelle
Dekanat
E-Mail

Bei Fragen zu den Gesamtuniversitären Abkommen: 
Global Student Experience UZH E-Mail / Webseite

Nicola Wenning

Kontakt bei Fragen zur Anrechnung
Nicola Wenning
Anrechnungen externe Leistungen
Dekanat
E-Mail