Data Science

Major Minor other

Big data and data-based decisions are among the greatest challenges facing us both today and in the future, given the lightning speed at which data is gathered, the vast quantities in which it is stored, and the constant new ways in which it is linked. How are these large and complex stocks of data processed and made usable? How do you link information from a range of sources if they use different units and terminology, for example, or have totally divergent structures? How do you approach data containing information from unreliable sources? And how do you extract knowledge from data?

Studierende

You have laid a foundation by completing your Bachelor's studies. At Master's level, you will deepen your knowledge through more practical-oriented work. In the Master's study program in Data Science, you will learn how to carry out professional analyses of large data quantities, recognize patterns, demonstrate relationships, and prepare results in appealing, interactive formats.

Drawing on techniques and theories from a range of fields including statistics, informatics, and cognitive sciences, this will give you the foundations for making strategic and operational decisions for individuals, companies, organizations, and society as a whole.

You will also learn how to analyze non-standard problems yourself, how to use independent means of acquiring the knowledge you need to do this, and how to design and use appropriate systems and solutions.

Classes in the Data Science major study program will cover the following topics:

  • Data Management
  • Algorithms
  • Advanced Statistics and Machine Learning
  • Data Visualization
  • Ethics

Career prospects and further degree programs

With a Master's degree in Data Science, you will be one of the few informatics specialists in Switzerland who specialize particularly in analyzing and processing data – a field with a huge amount of potential for the future. The spectrum of potential employers ranges from major companies in the service sector and international IT companies to specialized small firms.

Moreover, graduates with the right aptitude have the opportunity to complete a doctorate, an outstanding foundation for an academic career.

Department of Informatics

Data Science is available as:

Major program: 90 ECTS credits. 
Can be combined with the following minor programs:

Business and Economics

Informatics

Banking and Finance   Informatics
Business Administration    

Economics

   
Minor program: 30 ECTS credits.
Can be combined with the following major programs:
Business and Economics Informatics
Banking and Finance   Artificial Intelligence
Business Administration   Information Systems
Economics   People-Oriented Computing
Management and Economics   Software Systems
Minor program for students from other faculties: 30 ECTS credits.
This minor study program can be combined with a major study program in accordance with the provisions set out in your program.

Data Science

Major Minor andere

Big Data und datenbasierte Entscheidungen gehören zu den grossen Herausforderungen der Gegenwart und der Zukunft: Daten werden in höchster Geschwindigkeit gesammelt, in riesigen Mengen aufbewahrt und ständig neu verknüpft. Wie lassen sich diese grossen und komplexen Datenbestände verarbeiten und nutzbar machen? Wie verknüpft man Informationen aus verschiedenen Quellen, wenn diese zum Beispiel unterschiedliche Einheiten und Terminologie verwenden oder völlig verschieden aufgebaut sind? Wie geht man mit Daten um, die Informationen aus unzuverlässigen Quellen enthalten? Wie wird aus Daten Wissen?

Studierende

Im Bachelorstudium haben Sie ein Fundament geschaffen. Auf der Masterstufe vertiefen Sie Ihre Kenntnisse mit vermehrt praxisorientierten Arbeiten. Im Masterstudium der Informatik mit Schwerpunkt Data Science lernen Sie, professionell grosse Datenmengen zu analysieren, Muster zu erkennen, Zusammenhänge aufzuzeigen sowie Resultate ansprechend und interaktiv aufzubereiten.

Dazu werden Techniken und Theorien aus verschiedenen Feldern wie zum Beispiel der Statistik, der Informatik und der Kognitionswissenschaften eingesetzt. Sie schaffen damit die Grundlagen für strategische und operative Entscheidungen für Individuen, Unternehmen, Organisationen und die Gesellschaft als Ganzes.

Der Unterricht im Studiengang Data Science deckt die folgenden Themen ab:

  • Data Management
  • Algorithmen
  • Fortgeschrittene Statistik und maschinelles Lernen
  • Datenvisualisierung
  • Ethik

Berufsperspektiven und weiterführende Studiengänge

Mit einem Masterabschluss in Data Science gehören Sie zu den wenigen Informatikerinnen und Informatikern in der Schweiz, die sich spezifisch auf die Analyse und die Verarbeitung von Daten spezialisiert haben, ein Aufgabengebiet mit ausserordentlichem Zukunftspotenzial. Die Palette möglicher Arbeitgeber reicht von Grossunternehmen im Dienstleistungssektor und internationalen IT-Unternehmen bis zu spezialisierten Kleinbetrieben.

Überdies besteht bei entsprechender Eignung die Möglichkeit, mit dem Doktorat eine ausgezeichnete Basis für eine akademische Laufbahn zu legen.

Institut für Informatik

Data Science wird angeboten als:

Major-Studienprogramm: 90 ECTS Credits. 
Kombinierbar mit folgenden Minor-Studienprogrammen:

Wirtschaftswissenschaften

Informatik

Banking and Finance   Informatics
Betriebswirtschaftslehre    
Economics    
Minor-Studienprogramm: 30 ECTS Credits.
Kombinierbar mit folgenden Major-Studienprogrammen:
Wirtschaftswissenschaften Informatik
Banking and Finance Artificial Intelligence
Betriebswirtschaftslehre Information Systems
Economics People-Oriented Computing
Management and Economics Software Systems
Minor-Studienprogramm für Studierende anderer Fakultäten: 30 ECTS Credits.
Dieses Minor-Studienprogramm kann mit einem Major-Studienprogramm gemäss Vorgaben ihrer Studienordnung kombiniert werden.