Admission to the Master's Program

With the exception of Bachelor's students matriculated at the Faculty of Business, Economics and Informatics, all students must submit a matriculation petition via online application for admission to the Master's program. This does not automatically guarantee admission to the Master's program at our Faculty.

Legal bases

Admission to a program at our Faculty is regulated by the ordinance on admission to studies at the University of Zurich and by the Faculty program regulations.

Ordinance on admission to studies at the University of Zurich

Faculty program regulations

Procedure

Admission to the Master's program involves the following three steps:

  1. Application assessment by the University: The Admissions Office reviews the application based on the formal criteria set out by the ordinance on admission to studies at the University of Zurich.
    Information on the application procedure
    Online application for a Master's program with a Bachelor's degree from another higher education institution
    (Applications may only be submitted online via the central UZH Admissions Office. Unsolicited documents will not be returned or forwarded.)
  2. Faculty categorization process: Once the Admissions Office approves the application, the documents are forwarded to the Faculty of Business, Economics and Informatics (examination delegate) for specialized academic review and categorization. Each application is reviewed individually.
  3. The Admissions Office sends you a decision on admission, informing you of your admission and categorization.

Categorization process

Categorization is only subject to specialized academic review in the case of the major study program. It is carried out for the major study program for which you have applied. The minor study program can be selected in line with the regulations.

The applicant is then categorized into a level of study:

  • Bachelor's program,
  • with conditions, which must be fulfilled before admission to the Master's program,
  • Master's program with additional requirements, or
  • directly into the Master's program.

Faculty examination delegates decide on the categorization according to specifications set out by the Faculty.

Details of categorization in Business and Economics

Details of categorization in Informatics

Additional requirements and conditions

Additional requirements and conditions are Bachelor's-level modules (Bachelor's courses and/or a Bachelor's thesis) that you must complete in addition to the Master's program. Additional requirements must be fulfilled within a certain deadline during the Master's study program. Conditions must be completed prior to the Master's program. It is important to note that most Bachelor's courses are held in German.

The deadlines specified for any additional requirements or conditions and the maximum permitted number of failed attempts according to the decision on admission are binding.

Previous knowledge and requirements

All students are required to possess at least the knowledge provided by the common compulsory program at Bachelor's level, even if they have been categorized into a Master's degree program without requirements or conditions. Any knowledge they are lacking must be acquired through independent study.

Common compulsory program at Bachelor's level

You can find information on subject-specific requirements on the subpages below:

Business and Economics

Informatics

The minor study program can be selected in line with the regulations. In this case too, students are responsible for acquiring any knowledge they are lacking themselves. For this reason, please ensure you read carefully through the requirements in the course catalogue for the minor study program you wish to take. If you wish to choose a faculty-external minor program, the requirements defined for that program will apply.

Proof of language proficiency

Students who intend to complete a degree program in a language other than their native language must present the necessary proof of English or German proficiency before studies begin. You can find information on the language in which the study program is conducted in the program regulations (Appendix A1):

Regulations

It is especially important to provide proof of proficiency in German for the Master's degree program in Business Administration. Information about language requirements and certificates recognized by UZH can be found here:

Language requirements at UZH

Letters of recommendation

Applicants may submit a letter of recommendation from a professor who is sufficiently familiar with and can evaluate the applicant's academic quality. The form below or an informal letter may be used for this. In all cases, the letter of recommendation must be signed by the professor and may then be submitted along with the other application documents or submitted directly by the professor as a separate item. The Faculty uses the letter of recommendation as an additional basis for making decisions during the categorization process.

Letter of recommendation (DOCX, 71 KB)

Review of admission to minor program

Students pursuing a major program at the Faculty of Business, Economics and Informatics can select freely from the internal minor programs offered by the Faculty and published in the course catalogue. There is no further specialized academic review for admission to the minor program. You are responsible for filling any gaps in your education or skills. The knowledge you are expected to have can be found in the course catalogue.

Course catalogue

For admission to faculty-external minor programs offered by other faculties, the requirements of the relevant faculty must be taken into account. It is possible that additional requirements or conditions will need to be met. Please note that some of these must be completed in German. You can find out the requirements and necessary language skills from the relevant faculty.

Masterzulassung

Mit Ausnahme der im Bachelor immatrikulierten Studierenden an der Wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Fakultät ist für die Masterzulassung ein Immatrikulationsgesuch über die Online-Bewerbung einzureichen. Das bedeutet nicht automatisch eine Zulassung zum Masterstudium an unserer Fakultät.

Rechtliche Grundlagen

Die Zulassung zum Studium an unserer Fakultät wird in der universitären Verordnung über die Zulassung zum Studium (VZS) sowie in den Studienreglementen der Fakultät geregelt.

Verordnung über die Zulassung zum Studium an der UZH

Studienreglemente der Fakultät

Ablauf

Die Masterzulassung umfasst folgende drei Schritte:

  1. Zulassungsprüfung der Universität: Die Zulassungsstelle prüft die Bewerbung hinsichtlich den formalen Kriterien der Zulassungsordnung (VZS).
    Informationen zum Bewerbungsablauf
    Online-Bewerbung für Master mit Bachelor einer anderen Hochschule
    (Bewerbungen sind ausschliesslich online über die zentrale Zulassungsstelle der UZH einzureichen. Unaufgefordert eingesandte Unterlagen werden nicht zurückgesendet und nicht weitergeleitet).
  2. Einstufungsverfahren der Fakultät: Bei positivem Entscheid durch die Zulassungsstelle wird das Dossier zur fachwissenschaftlichen Prüfung und Einstufung an die Wirtschaftswissenschaftliche Fakultät (Prüfungsdelegierten) weitergeleitet. Jede Bewerbung wird sur dossier geprüft.
  3. Sie erhalten von der Zulassungsstelle einen Zulassungsbescheid, der Sie über Ihre Zulassung und Einstufung informiert.

Einstufungsverfahren

Die Einstufung wird nur für das Hauptfachstudienprogramm fachwissenschaftlich geprüft und erfolgt für das beantragte Hauptfachstudienprogramm. Das Nebenfachstudienprogramm ist im Rahmen des Reglements wählbar.

Die Einstufung erfolgt dann entweder

  • im Bachelorstudium,
  • mit Bedingungen, die vor dem Masterstudium zu erfüllen sind,
  • im Masterstudium mit Auflagen oder
  • direkt im Masterstudium.

Die Einstufung erfolgt durch die Prüfungsdelegierten unserer Fakultäten basierend auf fakultären Vorgaben.

Details zur Einstufung in Wirtschaftswissenschaften

Details zur Einstufung in Informatik

Auflagen und Bedingungen

Auflagen und Bedingungen sind Module der Bachelorstufe (Bachelorveranstaltungen und/oder Bachelorarbeit), die Sie zusätzlich zum Masterstudium absolvieren müssen. Auflagen sind während des Masterstudiums innerhalb einer Frist zu erfüllen. Bedingungen müssen vor dem Masterstudium absolviert werden. Beachten Sie, dass die meisten Bachelorveranstaltungen auf Deutsch gehalten werden.

Die für die Auflagen und Bedingungen vorgegebenen Fristen und maximal zulässige Anzahl von Fehlversuchen gemäss Zulassungsverfügung müssen zwingend eingehalten werden.

Bitte beachten Sie, dass Fristen für Auflagen auch dann weiterlaufen, wenn Sie einen Fakultätswechsel vornehmen (Einschreibung an einer anderen Fakultät), oder wenn Sie die UZH verlassen (Exmatrikulation). Ein Ablauf der Fristen führt zu den entsprechenden Folgen (z.B. Ausschluss vom Studium).

Ausschluss

Vorkenntnisse und Voraussetzungen

Es wird für alle Studierenden - auch wenn eine Einstufung in den Masterstudiengang ohne Auflagen und Bedingungen erfolgte - mindestens das Wissen des gemeinsamen Pflichtprogramms der Bachelorstufe vorausgesetzt. Allfällige Lücken im Curriculum müssen durch selbstständige Lektüre geschlossen werden.

Gemeinsames Pflichtprogramm Bachelor

Informationen zu den fachspezifischen Voraussetzungen finden Sie auf folgenden Unterseiten:

Wirtschaftswissenschaften

Informatik

Das Nebenfachstudienprogramm ist im Rahmen des Reglements wählbar. Auch hier sind Studierende dafür verantwortlich, allfällige Wissenslücken selbstständig zu schliessen. Lesen Sie dazu im Vorlesungsverzeichnis die Anforderungen für das gewünschte Nebenfachstudienprogramm genau durch. Bei fakultätsfremden Nebenfächern gelten die vom jeweiligen Fach definierten Voraussetzungen.

Nachweis der Sprachkenntnisse

Studierende, die einen Studiengang in einer anderen Sprache als ihrer Muttersprache absolvieren möchten, müssen die für das jeweilige Studienprogramm erforderlichen Englisch- bzw. Deutschnachweise bis spätestens vor Studienbeginn erbringen. Angaben zur Sprache des Studienprogramms finden Sie in der Studienordnung (Anhang A1):

Reglemente

Ein Deutschnachweis ist insbesondere für das Masterstudienprogramm in Betriebswirtschaftslehre zu erbringen. Informationen zu den sprachlichen Anforderungen und den von der UZH anerkannten Zertifikaten finden Sie hier:

Sprachliche Anforderungen an der UZH

Empfehlungsschreiben

Bewerbende können ein Empfehlungsschreiben einer Professorin oder eines Professors einreichen, die resp. der die akademische Qualität der Bewerbenden ausreichend kennt und einschätzen kann. Dafür kann das untenstehende Formular benutzt werden oder ein formloses Schreiben. Das Empfehlungsschreiben muss in jedem Fall von der Professorin oder dem Professor unterzeichnet sein und kann danach zusammen mit den sonstigen Bewerbungsdokumenten eingereicht werden oder von der Professorin resp. dem Professor separat direkt zugestellt werden. Das Empfehlungsschreiben dient der Fakultät als zusätzliche Entscheidungsgrundlage beim Einstufungsverfahren.

Empfehlungsschreiben (English only) (DOCX, 71 KB)

Zulassungsprüfung für das Nebenfach

Als Hauptfachstudierende der Wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Fakultät können Sie aus dem internen Nebenfachangebot der Fakultät gemäss Angaben im Vorlesungsverzeichnis frei wählen. Es erfolgt keine zusätzliche fachwissenschaftliche Zulassungsprüfung im Nebenfach. Sie sind selber verantwortlich für das Schliessen von allfälligen Lücken. Die erwarteten Kenntnisse sind im Vorlesungsverzeichnis zu finden.

Vorlesungsverzeichnis

Für die Zulassung zu den fakultätsfremden Nebenfächern anderer Fakultäten sind die Vorgaben der anbietenden Fakultät zu beachten. Es ist möglich, dass Auflagen oder Bedingungen zu erfüllen sind. Beachten Sie, dass diese teilweise in Deutsch zu absolvieren sind. Informieren Sie sich bei der anbietenden Fakultät über die Vorgaben und geforderten Sprachkenntnisse.