Header

FAQ Incoming

1 QUESTIONS ABOUT PLANNING THE EXCHANGE SEMESTER

1.1 What possibilities are there for an exchange semester at UZH?

Find out about existing exchange programs that will make your stay at UZH easier from an administrative point of view at your home university.  An overview is also provided by the GSE (Global Student Experience) on their website.

If there is no program or agreement with UZH or our faculty at your home university, there is the possibility that you organize a guest stay with us on your own. An overview on how to proceed can also be found on the GSE website.

1.2 What shall I consider (regarding financing, entry, living and working) before departure?

Information on entry, health insurance, finances, living, and working is compiled on the GSE (Global Student Experience) website. Here you will also find information about various German courses before and during the semester.

At the University of Zurich, we offer different kinds of individual support if you have a disability. The aim of the support is to ensure that you may pursue your studies under the most similar conditions as possible as your peers. In order to ensure that you receive the appropriate disability support, please proceed according to the steps outlined at our website.

1.3 Is a language certificate required?

  • SEMP: no obligatory language certificate necessary
  • Faculty agreement: English certificate level C1 (C1, CAE, TOEFL or IELTS) obligatory
  • General: German language proficiency level B2 recommended

1.4 How do I proceed if I want to come to UZH as a visiting student?

Students who are enrolled at a recognized foreign university with which UZH does not have an exchange agreement have the possibility to come to UZH as regular visiting students or invited visiting students. For admission to guest studies, the general rule is that students remain enrolled at their home university during their stay at UZH and cannot obtain a UZH degree. There is no right to admission.

For information about invited guest students, please contact the GSE (Global Student Experience) (incoming@int.uzh.ch).



2 QUESTIONS ABOUT APPLYING FOR AN EXCHANGE SEMESTER

2.1 What is the application procedure if I come to UZH via a SEMP agreement and what application documents do I have to provide?

You will be nominated via the relevant office at your home university. Once you are successfully nominated with us, the next step is to compile your application dossier. All information about the SEMP application and application dossier can be found here. You will be informed about all necessary steps by the GSE (Global Student Experience) via email.

2.2 What is the application procedure if I come to UZH via a faculty-wide agreement and what application documents do I need to provide?

All information about the application and the application documents for the faculty-wide agreements can be found here. You will be informed about all necessary steps by the GSE (Global Student Experience) via email.

2.3 What are the application deadlines?

The application deadline for exchange students outside of Europe (faculty-wide agreements) is 30 March (for an exchange in the fall semester of the same year and/or spring semester of the next year) or 30 September (for an exchange only in the spring semester of the following year).

The application deadline for exchange students from Europe (SEMP agreements) is 30 April (for an exchange in the fall semester of the same year and/or spring semester of the next year) or 30 September (for an exchange in the spring semester of the following year only).

2.4 Will I receive financial support (scholarship) for the stay?

Students doing an exchange within the SEMP agreement usually automatically receive a grant to cover travel and accommodation costs. This grant is paid in two parts (80% at the beginning of the exchange, 20% after the submission of the testimonial).

Students planning an exchange via a university-wide (GU), or a faculty-wide agreement can find all the latest information on financial aid opportunities on the GSE (Global Student Experience) website.



3 COURSE SELECTION AND MODULE BOOKING

3.1 How do I find, choose, and book suitable courses (modules)?

Helpful links:

In order to participate in an examination, you must book (or drop, as appropriate) a module in due time by the deadline published in the course catalogue using the module booking app. The booking tool is opened four weeks before the start of courses each semester and closes at the beginning of the fourth week of courses. It is not possible to register for or drop a course after this deadline. Remember, therefore, to book the modules for which you wish to take the examination within this time period, and to drop any modules you do not wish to attend.

It should also be noted that exams always take place at the same time as the course. Since module and exam times can thus overlap, exams for Bachelor's, Master's and doctoral courses are held according to a fixed schedule.

3.2 Do I have to register for the exams?

When you book the module, you are automatically registered for the exam. Examination cancellation after the module booking deadline is only possible with a medical certificate. It should also be noted that exams always take place at the same time as the course. Since module and examination times can thus overlap, examinations for Bachelor's, Master's and doctoral courses are held according to a fixed schedule.

3.3 Can I also take courses at the ETH?

Yes, a maximum of 2 ETH courses may be taken. In addition, a 1/3 rule applies, whereby a maximum of 1/3 of the total ECTS of the semester may be completed at ETH. Failure to comply with this rule may affect the scholarship.

3.4 How large is the number of courses offered in English at the Faculty of Business, Economics and Informatics?

Five out of seven Master's programs at our Faculty are already held in English. Accordingly, on average just under 70 percent of all Master's courses are offered in English. The Bachelor's programs are generally held in German, although some courses are also held in English (this percentage tends to be higher for more advanced courses).

Note: To display English-language modules, you can check the «Suitable for English speakers» box in the module search in the course catalogue.

3.5 How do I book a language course?

Language courses are booked directly via the Language Centre. Please note that the language courses each have an earlier booking period and the number of places is limited. Places are allocated according to registration date.

3.6 Where and by when do I have to submit my Learning Agreement?

You can send the Learning Agreement (LA) by e-mail to mobility@oec.uzh.ch and have it signed by the OecMobility team. After that, you have to upload it to MobOn. If you subsequently make changes to the LA, you must send it to us again by e-mail for review. If you are unable to upload the LA to Mobility Online (MobOn) for technical reasons, please send it to mobility@oec.uzh.ch.

The deadline for submitting the Learning Agreement is 30 September in the fall semester and 28 February in the spring semester. In exceptional cases, if your definitive LA is not available at this time, upload a provisional version to MobOn by this deadline. The definitive version can be submitted later by email to the OecMobility team (mobility@oec.uzh.ch).

3.7 How does the credit transfer of courses to my studies at my home university work?

You must check with your university at an early stage whether a particular course can be credited as such to your studies at your home university. The great freedom of choice you have when booking modules at UZH does not automatically mean that the courses will also be recognized by your home university. The creditability is entirely their decision. Detailed descriptions of the modules can be found in the UZH course catalogue.



4 ECTS AND TRANSCRIPT OF RECORDS

4.1 How many ECTS credits can I book per semester?

A maximum of 20-30 ECTS per semester is recommended (30 ECTS correspond to a full course load).

4.2 When and how do I receive the transcript of records?

After the end of the exchange semester, the official transcript of records is made available electronically in the student portal and downloaded by the students themselves. It is available in German and English. The transcript of records automatically shows all passed and failed courses that you have booked. Failed courses are automatically and always shown on the transcript of records. Courses that have been booked but not attended and not cancelled within the booking deadline are also listed as failed attempts (grade 1) on the transcript of records. Courses attended at the Language Centre or ETH automatically appear on the UZH transcript of records. If your home university requires the transcript to be mailed by UZH, please contact mobility@oec.uzh.ch.

4.3 How and where can I apply for a provisional Transcript of Records?

If you need a Transcript of Records earlier, you can request a provisional version at mobility@oec.uzh.ch and we will send it to you by email.



5 FURTHER INFORMATION

5.1 Which grading system applies at UZH?

Examination results at UZH are graded 1-6, with intermediate values (quarter grades) permitted. The grades have the following meanings:

UZH Grade      Meaning

  •    6.00          excellent
  •    5.50          very good
  •    5.00          good
  •    4.50          satisfactory
  •    4.00          sufficient
  • < 4.00          insufficient

5.2 Are there introductory/informational events at the beginning of the semester?

Yes, both the GSE (Global Student Experience) and the Faculty of Business, Economics and Informatics hold so-called Welcome Events at the beginning of each semester, some of which are mandatory. You will be informed about these events by e-mail in due time.

During the Welcome Program of the GSE, students learn everything about studying at UZH in general and about life in Switzerland. At the Informational Event of the Faculty of Business, Economics and Informatics you will learn all the specific information about studying at the Faculty. In addition, incoming students can apply for the «Buddy» program in advance of the info event (details will be sent to you by e-mail).

5.3 I would like to write my Bachelor/Master thesis during the exchange semester in Zurich. Is this possible?

In principle, yes. However, as an exchange student it is required that you also attend courses. If you plan to write only on your Bachelor or Master thesis, you must be reclassified as an intern through the GSE (Global Student Experience) (mail to incoming@int.uzh.ch). And: if you want to write your Bachelor's or Master's thesis at our Faculty, you must find a supervisor yourself.

 

Additional questions are answered in the Global Student Experience FAQ.

Header

FAQ Incoming

1 FRAGEN ZUR PLANUNG DES MOBILITÄTSSEMESTERS

1.1 Welche Möglichkeiten eines Mobilitätssemesters an der UZH gibt es?

Informieren Sie sich an Ihrer Heimuniversität über bestehende Austauschprogramme, die Ihnen einen Aufenthalt an der UZH in administrativer Hinsicht erleichtern. Einen Überblick bietet auch das GSE (Global Student Experience) auf ihrer Webseite.

Sollte an Ihrer Heimuniversität kein Programm oder Abkommen mit der UZH oder unserer Fakultät bestehen, gibt es die Möglichkeit, dass Sie sich einen Gastaufenthalt bei uns selbstständig organisieren. Eine Übersicht über ein selbstorganisiertes Gaststudium an der UZH bietet Ihnen ebenfalls die Webseite des GSE.

1.2 Welche Abklärungen (Finanzierung, Einreise, Leben und Arbeiten) müssen vor der Abreise getroffen werden?

Informationen zur Einreise, Krankenkasse, Finanzen, Wohnen und Arbeiten sind auf der Webseite des GSE (Global Student Experience) zusammengestellt. Hier finden Sie auch Informationen zu verschiedenen Deutschkursen vor und während dem Semester.

An der Universität Zürich bieten wir verschiedene Arten von individueller Unterstützung für Studierende mit studienerschwerenden Beeinträchtigungen. Ziel der Unterstützung ist es, dass Sie Ihr Studium unter den möglichst gleichen Bedingungen wie Ihre Mitstudierenden absolvieren können. Um sicherzustellen, dass Sie die passende Unterstützung erhalten, gehen Sie bitte gemäss den Richtlinien unserer Website vor.

1.3 Ist ein Sprachnachweis notwendig?

  • SEMP: kein obligatorischer Sprachnachweis notwendig
  • Fakultätsabkommen: Englischnachweis Niveau C1 (C1, CAE, TOEFL oder IELTS) obligatorisch
  • Allgemein: Deutsch-Kenntnisse auf Niveau B2 empfohlen

1.4 Wie gehe ich vor, wenn ich als Visiting Student (Gaststudium/Gastaufenthalt) an die UZH kommen will?

Studierende, die an einer anerkannten ausländischen universitären Hochschule immatrikuliert sind, mit der die UZH keinen Austauschvertrag hat, haben die Möglichkeit als reguläre Gaststudierende oder eingeladene Gaststudierende an die UZH zu kommen. Für die Zulassung zum Gaststudium gilt generell, dass die Studierenden während des Aufenthaltes an der UZH an ihrer Heimuniversität eingeschrieben bleiben und keinen UZH-Abschluss erwerben können. Ein Recht auf Zulassung besteht nicht.

Im Fall von eingeladenen Gaststudierenden bitte mit dem GSE (Global Student Experience) in Kontakt setzten (incoming@int.uzh.ch).



2 FRAGEN ZUR BEWERBUNG FÜR EIN MOBILITÄTSSEMESTER

2.1 Wie läuft das Bewerbungsverfahren, wenn ich über einen SEMP-Vertrag an die UZH komme und welche Bewerbungsunterlagen muss ich bereitstellen?

Die Nominierung erfolgt über die zuständige Stelle an Ihrer Heimuniversität. Sobald Sie erfolgreich bei uns nominiert sind, müssen Sie als nächstes Ihr Bewerbungsdossier zusammenstellen. Alle Informationen zur SEMP-Bewerbung und den Bewerbungsunterlagen finden Sie hier. Über alle notwendigen Schritte werden Sie vom GSE (Global Student Experience) per E-Mail informiert.

2.2 Wie läuft das Bewerbungsverfahren, wenn ich über ein Fakultätsabkommen an die UZH komme und welche Bewerbungsunterlagen muss ich bereitstellen?

Alle Informationen zur Bewerbung und den Bewerbungsunterlagen für die Fakultätsabkommen finden Sie hier. Über alle notwendigen Schritte werden Sie vom GSE (Global Student Experience) per E-Mail informiert.

2.3 Welche Bewerbungsfristen gelten?

Die Bewerbungsfrist für Austauschstudierende ausserhalb von Europa (Fakultätsabkommen) ist der 30. März (für einen Austausch im Herbstsemester des gleichen Jahres und/oder Frühlingssemester des nächsten Jahres) bzw. der 30. September (für einen Austausch nur im Frühlingssemester des darauffolgenden Jahres).

Die Bewerbungsfrist für Austauschstudierende aus Europa (SEMP-Verträge) ist der 30. April (für einen Austausch im Herbstsemester des gleichen Jahres und/oder Frühlingssemester des nächsten Jahres) bzw. der 30. September (für einen Austausch nur im Frühlingssemester des darauffolgenden Jahres).

2.4 Erhalte ich finanzielle Unterstützung (Stipendium) für den Aufenthalt?

Studierende, die eine Mobilität innerhalb des SEMP-Abkommens machen, erhalten in der Regel automatisch einen Zuschuss zur Deckung der Reise- und Aufenthaltskosten. Dieser Zuschuss wird in zwei Teilen ausgezahlt (80% zu Beginn des Austausches, 20% nach dem Einreichen des Erfahrungsberichtes).

Studierende die einen Austausch via GU- oder Fakultätsabkommen planen, finden alle aktuellen Informationen über finanzielle Unterstützungsmöglichkeiten auf der Webseite des GSE (Global Student Experience).



3 KURSWAHL UND MODULBUCHUNG

3.1 Wie finde, wähle und buche ich geeignete Veranstaltungen (Module)?

Hilfreiche Links:

Damit Sie an einer Prüfung teilnehmen können, müssen Sie ein Modul rechtzeitig innert der im Vorlesungsverzeichnis (VVZ) angegebenen Frist über die Modulbuchungs-App buchen oder gegebenenfalls stornieren. Das Buchungstool wird jeweils vier Wochen vor Vorlesungsbeginn geöffnet und schliesst zu Beginn der vierten Vorlesungswoche. Eine An- oder Abmeldung zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt ist nicht mehr möglich. Vergessen sie also nicht, innerhalb dieser Frist, die Module, bei denen Sie die Prüfung absolvieren wollen, zu buchen und sich von den Modulen abzumelden, die Sie nicht besuchen wollen.

Zu beachten ist auch, dass Prüfungen immer zur gleichen Uhrzeit wie die Veranstaltung stattfinden. Da sich Modul- und Prüfungszeiten so überschneiden können, werden die Prüfungen der Bachelor, Master und Doktoratskurse nach einem fixen Schema durchgeführt.

3.2 Muss ich mich für die Prüfungen anmelden?

Mit der Buchung des Moduls werden Sie automatisch für die Prüfung angemeldet. Prüfungsabmeldungen nach der Modulbuchungsfrist sind nur mit ärztlichem Zeugnis möglich. Zu beachten ist auch, dass Prüfungen immer zur gleichen Uhrzeit wie die Veranstaltung stattfinden. Da sich Modul- und Prüfungszeiten so überschneiden können, werden die Prüfungen der Bachelor, Master und Doktoratskurse nach einem fixen Schema durchgeführt.

3.3 Kann ich auch ETH Kurse belegen?

Ja. Allerdings dürfen max. 2 ETH Kurse belegt werden. Zusätzlich gilt eine 1/3 Regel, wobei max. 1/3 der gesamten ECTS des Semesters an der ETH absolviert werden dürfen. Die Nichteinhaltung dieser Vorschrift kann Auswirkungen auf das Stipendium haben.

3.4 Wie gross ist das englischsprachige Kursangebot an der Wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Fakultät?

Fünf von sieben Master-Studiengängen werden an unserer Fakultät bereits auf Englisch geführt. Entsprechend werden durchschnittlich knapp 70 Prozent aller Master-Veranstaltungen in Englisch angeboten. Die Bachelor-Studiengänge sind grundsätzlich in Deutsch, wobei auch hier einige Veranstaltungen in Englisch gehalten werden (dieser Anteil ist bei fortgeschritteneren Veranstaltungen eher höher).

Hinweis: Für die Anzeige von englischsprachigen Modulen kann in der Modulsuche im Vorlesungsverzeichnis das Feld «Für Englischsprachige geeignet» angeklickt werden.

3.5 Wie buche ich einen Sprachkurs?

Die Sprachkurse werden direkt via Sprachenzentrum gebucht. Bitte beachten Sie, dass die Sprachkurse jeweils eine frühere Buchungsperiode haben und die Platzzahl begrenzt ist und Plätze nach Registrationszeitpunkt vergeben werden.

3.6 Wo und bis wann muss ich mein Learning Agreement einreichen?

Das Learning Agreement (LA) können Sie per Mail an mobility@oec.uzh.ch senden und vom OecMobility-Team unterschreiben lassen. Sollten Sie nachträglich nochmals Änderungen beim LA vornehmen, müssen Sie uns dieses zur Sichtung nochmals per E-Mail zukommen lassen. Falls sie das LA aus technischen Gründen nicht mehr in Mobility Online (MobOn) hochladen können, schicken Sie es an mobility@oec.uzh.ch.

Die Deadline für das Einreichen des Learning Agreements ist im Herbstsemester der 30. September und im Frühjahrssemester der 28. Februar. Falls in Ausnahmefällen Ihr definitives LA zu diesem Zeitpunkt noch nicht vorhanden ist, laden Sie eine provisorische Version bis zum Ende dieser Frist im MobOn hoch. Die definitive Version kann später per Mail an das OecMobility-Team (mobility@oec.uzh.ch) nachgereicht werden.

3.7 Wie funktioniert die Anrechnung von Modulen an mein Studium an der Heimuniversität?

Ob ein bestimmtes Modul als solches für Ihr Studium an Ihrer Heimuniversität anrechenbar ist, müssen Sie mit Ihrer Universität frühzeitig abklären. Die grosse Wahlfreiheit, die Sie bei der Modulbuchung an der UZH haben, bedeutet nicht automatisch, dass die Kurse von Ihrer Heimuniversität auch anerkannt werden. Die Anrechenbarkeit ist vollumfänglich deren Entscheidung. Detaillierte Beschriebe zu den Modulen finden Sie im Vorlesungsverzeichnis der UZH.



4 ECTS UND LEISTUNGSAUSWEIS

4.1 Wie viele ECTS-Punkte kann ich pro Semester buchen?

Empfohlen werden max. 20-30 ECTS pro Semester (30 ECTS entsprechen einem vollen Studienpensum).

4.2 Wann und wie erhalte ich den Leistungsausweis?

Nach Ende des Austauschsemesters wird der offizielle Leistungsausweis im Studierendenportal elektronisch bereitgestellt und von den Studierenden selbst heruntergeladen. Er ist auf Deutsch und Englisch verfügbar. Auf dem Leistungsausweis sind automatisch alle bestandenen und nicht bestandenen Kurse ausgewiesen, welche Sie gebucht haben. Fehlversuche werden automatisch und immer auf dem Leistungsausweis ausgewiesen. Auch gebuchte Kurse, die nicht besucht und nicht innert der Buchungsfrist rechtzeitig storniert wurden, sind als Fehlversuche (Note 1) auf dem Leistungsausweis aufgeführt. Kurse, die am Sprachenzentrum oder an der ETH besucht werden, erscheinen automatisch auf dem Leistungsausweis der UZH. Falls Ihre Heimatuniversität den Mailversand des Transcipts durch die UZH verlangt, melden Sie sich bitte bei mobility@oec.uzh.ch.

4.3 Wie und wo kann ich einen provisorischen Leistungsausweis beantragen?

Falls Sie Ihren Leistungsausweis früher benötigen, können Sie eine provisorische Version bei mobility@oec.uzh.ch bestellen. Wir schicken das Dokument dann per Email an Sie.



5 WEITERE INFORMATIONEN

5.1 Welches Notensystem gilt an der UZH?

Die Prüfungsergebnisse an der UZH werden mit den Noten 1-6 bewertet, wobei Zwischenwerte (Viertelnoten) zulässig sind. Den Noten kommen die folgenden Bedeutungen zu:

UZH Noten      Bedeutung

  •    6.00          hervorragend
  •    5.50          sehr gut
  •    5.00          gut
  •    4.50          befriedigend
  •    4.00          ausreichend
  • < 4.00          ungenügend

5.2 Gibt es Einführungs-/Informationsevents zu Semesterbeginn?

Ja, sowohl das GSE (Global Student Experience) als auch die Wirtschaftswissenschaftliche Fakultät führen jeweils zu Semesterbeginn sogenannte Welcome Events durch, von denen einige obligatorisch sind. Sie werden diesbezüglich rechtzeitig per E-Mail in Kenntnis gesetzt.

Während dem Welcome-Program des GSE erfahren Studierende alles zum Studium an der UZH allgemein und zum Leben in der Schweiz. Am Info-Event der Wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Fakultät erfahren Sie alle spezifischen Informationen zum Studium an der Fakultät. Ausserdem können sich Incoming-Studierende im Vorfeld des Info-Events für das «Buddy»-Programm bewerben (Details dazu erhalten Sie per E-Mail).

5.3 Ich möchte gerne während des Austauschsemesters in Zürich meine Bachelor-/Masterarbeit schreiben. Ist das möglich?

Grundsätzlich ja. Als Austauschstudent/in wird aber vorausgesetzt, dass Sie auch Kurse besuchen. Wenn Sie planen, nur an Ihrer Bachelor- oder Master-Arbeit zu schreiben, müssen Sie durch das GSE (Global Student Experience) (Mail an incoming@int.uzh.ch) zum Praktikanten oder zur Praktikantin umgeschrieben werden. Und: Wenn Sie an unserer Fakultät Ihre Bachelor- oder Masterarbeit schreiben wollen, müssen Sie sich selbst um eine Betreuungsperson kümmern.

 

Weitere Fragen werden im Global Student Experience-FAQ beantwortet.