Doctoral Programs and Admission

The Faculty of Business, Economics and Informatics offers various Doctoral programs for very good Master's and excellent Bachelor's degree holders. Acceptance and admission are granted after individual reviews conducted by both the program directors and the University.

General process for acceptance and admission

Persons who are currently not enrolled at the University of Zurich must first apply with one of the program directors to be accepted to a program (in the Informatics department, with the respective professor). Additionally, they must apply online with the Admissions Office, who reviews the application on behalf of the University. Acceptance to a program is only possible after these steps have been completed.

Persons who begin a Doctoral program immediately after completing a Master's program at our Faculty must also apply for acceptance with the program director (in the Informatics department, with the respective professor). They must also register for the corresponding Doctoral program in the scope of semester enrollment.

Candidates can apply for different tracks (Tracks A, B, or C). An application for Track A requires an explicit confirmation of a professor from our Faculty to act as the applicant's supervisor. More information regarding the different tracks is available on the following website:

Doctoral programs

When applying, please note the information and deadlines published on each program website. Only complete and properly submitted files will be considered.

Program contacts

Doctoral programs in Economics and Neuroeconomics

Examination delegates: Prof. Dr. G. Crawford (Economics) and Prof. Dr. T. Hare (Neuroeconomics)
Program coordination: Mirjam Britschgiand Karin Wyss
Admission process for Economics
Admission process for Neuroeconomics

Graduate School of Business

Examination delegates: Prof. Dr. R. Göx (Business Administration) and Prof. Dr. U. Kaiser (Management and Economics)
Program coordination: Falko Zapf
Admission process for Business Administration/Management and Economics

Doctoral program in Finance

Examination delegate: Prof. Dr. S. Ongena
Program coordination: Sarah Wikus
Admission process for Finance

Doctoral program in Informatics

Examination delegate: Prof. Dr. S. Seuken
Program coordination: Barabara Jost
Admission process for Informatics

Doktoratsprogramme und -zulassung

Die Wirtschaftswissenschaftliche Fakultät bietet verschiedene Doktoratsprogramme für sehr gute Master- und exzellente Bachelorabsolventen an. Eine Aufnahme und Zulassung erfolgt nach individueller Prüfung durch die Programme einerseits und durch die Universität andererseits.

Genereller Ablauf der Aufnahme und Zulassung

Personen, die derzeit nicht an der Universität Zürich eingeschrieben sind, müssen sich zuerst bei einem der Programmdirektoren um Aufnahme in das Programm bewerben (in der Informatik beim entsprechenden Professor). Zusätzlich müssen sie sich online bei der Zulassungsstelle bewerben, wo ihr Dossier von Seiten der Universität geprüft wird. Erst danach ist eine definitive Aufnahme in ein Programm möglich. 

Personen, die unmittelbar vom Masterstudium an unserer Fakultät in ein Doktoratsprogramm wechseln, müssen sich ebenfalls beim Programmdirektor (in der Informatik beim entsprechenden Professor) um Aufnahme bewerben. Gleichzeitig müssen sie sich im Rahmen der Semestereinschreibung für das entsprechende Doktorat einschreiben.

Es stehen unterschiedliche Tracks zur Verfügung (Track A, B und C). Für eine Bewerbung für Track A ist eine explizite Betreuungszusage von einem Professor der Wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Fakultät nötig. Für nähere Informationen zu den unterschiedlichen Tracks besuchen Sie bitte die folgende Webseite:

Doktoratsstudium

Beachten Sie bei der Bewerbung unbedingt die Angaben und Termine auf den einzelnen Programmwebseiten. Es werden nur vollständige, korrekt eingereichte Dossiers berücksichtigt.

Kontakt Doktoratsprogramme

Doktoratsprogramm Volkswirtschaftslehre und Neuroökonomie

Prüfungsdelegierte: Prof. Dr. G. Crawford (VWL) und Prof. Dr. T. Hare (Neuro)
Programmkoordination: Mirjam Britschgiund Karin Wyss
Ablauf der Zulassung VWL
Ablauf der Zulassung Neuroökonomie

Graduate School of Business

Prüfungsdelegierte: Prof. Dr. R. Göx (BWL) und Prof. Dr. U. Kaiser (ME)
Programmkoordination: Falko Zapf
Ablauf der Zulassung BWL und ME

Doktoratsprogramm Finance

Prüfungsdelegierter: Prof. Dr. S. Ongena
Programmkoordination: Sarah Wikus
Ablauf der Zulassung Finance

Doktoratsprogramm Informatik

Prüfungsdelegierter: Prof. Dr. S. Seuken
Programmkoordination: Monika Ohl
Ablauf der Zulassung Informatik