Computing and Economics

test

We are living in an online world, with IT systems forming the foundations for the online provision and procurement of information, as well as online commerce and services. This means supply and demand coming together in a virtual world, raising such intriguing questions as: How do electronic markets work? How do we strike a balance between the information that providers and users possess? How do you create fair online auctions? And how do you prevent tampering and informational disadvantages affecting one party?

Studierende

In the Master's study program in Computing and Economics, you will broaden and deepen the knowledge you acquired during your Bachelor's study program, with the aim of gaining a better understanding of the analysis and design of electronic markets, social networks, and online platforms, as well as deriving systems that can be used for these purposes.

You will also learn how to analyze non-standard problems yourself, how to use independent means of acquiring the knowledge you need to do this, and how to design and use appropriate systems and solutions.

Career prospects and further degree programs

With a Master's degree in Computing and Economics, your in-depth knowledge will be in particularly high demand in any company involved in electronic markets. Your education will enable you, for example, to optimize the design of Internet advertising platforms or devise new online auctions.

Potential employers include both major international companies and small startups who are developing new electronic markets. With an innovative idea, you could even start your own business.

Moreover, graduates with the right aptitude have the opportunity to complete a doctorate, an outstanding foundation for an academic career.

Department of Informatics

Computing and Economics is available as:

Major program: 90 ECTS credits. 
Can be combined with the following minor programs:

Business and Economics

Informatics

Banking and Finance   Data Science
Business Administration   Informatics

Economics

Computing and Economics

Major Minor andere

Die heutige Welt ist online. Informationsangebot und -beschaffung, Handel und Dienstleistungen erfolgen online auf der Basis entsprechender Informatiksysteme. Angebot und Nachfrage treffen damit in der virtuellen Welt aufeinander. Hieraus entstehen spannende Fragestellungen: Wie funktionieren elektronische Märkte, wie balancieren wir Information zwischen Anbietern und Nutzern, wie gestaltet man faire online-Auktionen oder wie lassen sich Manipulation und einseitige Informationsnachteile verhindern?

Studierende

Mit dem Masterstudium der Informatik mit Schwerpunkt Computing and Economics (Informatik und Ökonomik) erweitern und vertiefen Sie Ihre Kenntnisse aus dem Bachelorstudium mit dem Ziel, die Analyse und das Design von elektronischen Märkten, sozialen Netzwerken und Online-Plattformen besser zu verstehen und daraus entsprechende Systeme abzuleiten.

Sie lernen, auch nicht-Standard Probleme eigenständig zu analysieren, das dafür notwenige Wissen selbständig zu erarbeiten und geeignete Systeme und Lösungen zu konzipieren und einzusetzen.

Berufsperspektiven und weiterführende Studiengänge

Mit einem Masterabschluss in Computing and Economics sind Ihre vertieften Kenntnisse insbesondere in Firmen gefragt, bei denen elektronische Märkte eine Rolle spielen. Ihre Ausbildung befähigt Sie zum Beispiel, das Design von Internet-Werbeplattformen zu optimieren oder neue Online-Auktionen zu entwerfen.

Zu den möglichen Arbeitgebern gehören internationale Grossunternehmen genauso wie kleine Startups, die neue elektronische Märkte entwickeln. Mit einer zündenden Idee können Sie sich auch selbständig machen.

Überdies besteht bei entsprechender Eignung die Möglichkeit, mit dem Doktorat eine ausgezeichnete Basis für eine akademische Laufbahn zu legen.

Institut für Informatik

Computing and Economics wird angeboten als:

Hauptfach: 90 ECTS Credits. 
Kombinierbar mit folgenden Nebenfächern:

Wirtschaftswissenschaften

Informatik

Banking and Finance   Data Science
Betriebswirtschaftslehre   Informatics
Economics