Quality Assurance

The Faculty of Business, Economics and Informatics considers the quality of teaching to be of great importance. For this reason, teaching quality is reviewed at regular intervals at different levels.

Individual teaching evaluation by module coordinators

Many module coordinators at our Faculty conduct an individual evaluation or coordinate an evaluation with the departments at the end of their courses. Students can use this evaluation as a source of qualified, constructive feedback.

Learning Assurance

Every semester a Learning Assurance program is conducted whereby courses of our Faculty are randomly evaluated. The goal is to determine if learning goals have been achieved on a broad basis. To this end, the module coordinators are surveyed. The results of the Learning Assurance program are presented to the Faculty committees and used by the study program directors to implement ongoing improvements to the degree programs.

Course Evaluation at UZH (LVE)

The single most important aim of the evaluation process is to encourage a dialogue across all levels at the University on the quality of teaching, thereby contributing to the further improvement of teaching performance overall. 

At the heart of the evaluation process are the online surveys in which students are questioned on their level of satisfaction with the courses they attend. In this way, students are given the opportunity to express their opinions on an anonymous basis and to refer to aspects of particular personal relevance. Instructors too benefit from the opportunity to recognize any problems and needs expressed by the students and, if necessary, adopt measures to improve the quality of their teaching.

Besides ensuring the quality of teaching, LVE is also required to report to various bodies (Executive Board of the University, Dean's offices, study program coordinators, student societies, Evaluation Office).

Course Evaluation (LVE)

Procedure for complaints about individual modules

In general we advise students with concerns regarding teaching to confer directly with the respective module coordinators and lecturers. If this is not possible, there is a contact point for complaints about teaching quality. The procedure is described in the fact sheet below.

Fact sheet contact point for complaints (PDF, 58 KB)

Qualitätssicherung

Die Qualität der Lehre ist der Wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Fakultät ein grosses Anliegen. Aus diesem Grund wird in regelmässigen Abständen auf verschiedenen Ebenen die Qualität der Lehre überprüft. 

Individuelle Lehrevaluation durch die Modulverantwortlichen

Viele Modulverantwortliche unserer Fakultät führen individuell oder koordiniert über die Institute am Ende ihrer Lehrveranstaltungen eine Evaluation durch. Studierende können diese für qualifiziertes, konstruktives Feedback nutzen. 

Learning Assurance

Jedes Semester wird im Rahmen der Learning Assurance eine Stichprobe von Veranstaltungen unserer Fakultät evaluiert. Ziel ist, die Erreichung der Lernziele auf einer breiten Basis zu ermitteln. Zu diesem Zweck werden die Modulverantwortlichen befragt. Die Resultate der Learning Assurance werden in den fakultären Gremien präsentiert und von den Programmdirektoren zur laufenden Verbesserung der Studiengänge genutzt.

Lehrveranstaltungsevaluation der UZH (LVE)

Wichtigstes Ziel der LVE ist die Förderung des Dialogs über die Lehre auf allen universitären Ebenen. Sie leistet damit einen wichtigen Beitrag zur Qualitätsentwicklung in der Lehre.

Im Zentrum der LVE stehen Online-Umfragen, in denen die Studierenden bezüglich ihrer Zufriedenheit mit den von ihnen besuchten Lehrveranstaltungen befragt werden. Die Studierenden erhalten auf diese Weise die Option, sich anonym zu äussern und auf für sie relevante Aspekte hinzuweisen. Auf Dozierendenseite ergibt sich die Möglichkeit, eventuelle Probleme und Bedürfnisse der Studierenden zu erkennen und gegebenenfalls Massnahmen zu einer verbesserten Lehrqualität zu ergreifen.

Neben der Sicherung der Lehrqualität unterliegt die LVE dem Auftrag der Berichterstattung an mehrere Gremien (Universitätsleitung, Dekanate, Studienprogrammverantwortliche, Fachvereine, Evaluationsstelle).

Lehrveranstaltungsevaluation (LVE)

Vorgehen bei Kritik an einzelnen Modulen

Generell raten wir Studierenden, sich mit Anliegen bezüglich der Lehre direkt an die betroffenen Modulverantwortlichen und Dozierenden zu wenden. Wenn dies nicht möglich ist, gibt es eine Anlaufstelle für Kritik an der Lehrqualität. Das Vorgehen ist in untenstehendem Merkblatt beschrieben.

Merkblatt Anlaufstelle für Kritik (PDF, 52 KB)