What's New?

The changes to the regulations effective from fall semester 2016 (HS16) will give you a number of advantages in relation to the format your studies take and how your skills are presented to the outside world. The overview provided here is also designed as decision guidance if you can choose to complete your studies under the old or the new regulations.

More freedom in study formats thanks to major and minor programs

The most significant new feature is that you have the opportunity to divide your studies at our Faculty into a major program and a minor program, allowing you to specialize in a field you are particularly interested in.

At Bachelor's level, you can use the minor program as a means of supplementing and enhancing your study program, or to create an initial area of specialization. You have the choice of completing the minor study program either at the Faculty of Business, Economics and Informatics or outside the Faculty. A list of possible minor programs outside the Faculty is available online.
Information on study programs

At Master's level, a minor program will give you the chance to hone your knowledge of a particular specialization and add a highlight to your CV.

Your specialization is clearly visible

Your Academic Record will also give those outside the University a clearer idea of the areas in which you specialized during your studies. This will help you create a more defined profile of yourself and provide a significant advantage on the job market, where specialists are more and more in demand.

New or amended study programs and modules

Another purpose of the changes to the regulations, affecting all the departments, has been to review the existing study programs on offer and identify the areas in which amendments or reorganizations would be worthwhile. Doing so, all degree programs at the Faculty of Business, Economics and Informatics now allow for the major program being combined with a minor program.

In the Bachelor's degree program in Business and Economics, the existing areas of specialization - Economics, Business Administration, and Banking and Finance - are remaining largely the same and will be in the form of major programs. The Management and Economics specialization is being removed and students who began their studies before HS16 will have to complete it up to HS17.

In the Master's degree program in Business and Economics, the existing areas of specialization - Economics, Business Administration, Banking and Finance, and Management and Economics - are remaining largely the same.

In the Bachelor's degree program in Informatics, five major study programs are available. The existing Information Systems and Software Systems specializations will remain as updated versions, taking the form of major programs. The major programs People-Oriented Computing as well as Computing and Economics are being added. The existing Applied Informatics specialization is being removed and replaced with a new program entitled Informatics with Natural Sciences.

In the Master's degree program in Informatics, five major study programs are available: Information Systems, Software Systems, People-Oriented Computing, Computing and Economics, and Data Science. The existing Multimodal and Cognitive Systems specialization is being removed and students who began their studies before HS16 will have to complete it up to HS17.

You can find the degree programs available from HS16 in the program regulations:
Program regulations

Bachelor's degree program in Business and Economics: from p. 27

Master's degree program in Business and Economics: from p. 30

Bachelor's degree program in Informatics: from p. 34

Master's degree program in Informatics: from p. 38

Details of the changes to the modules on offer, categorized according to levels of study, are available in the guidelines for the transition to the new regulations. You will find all the guidelines that apply to you on the page "How am I affected?".

New calculation method for the final grade in the Bachelor's program

There is a new final grade calculation method that applies specifically to students in a Bachelor's degree program. Previously, assessment-level grades were not counted toward the final degrees in line with the old regulations. Now, however, they are counted toward the final degrees in line with the new regulations.

Promising prospects on the job market

Whether you are completing your degree in line with the old regulations or the new ones, studies in Business and Economics as well as Informatics will open up outstanding job opportunities for you in a whole range of fields.

Its extensive focus on research gives the Faculty of Business, Economics and Informatics at the University of Zurich a prestigious profile within the German-speaking world, pushing it to the top of the rankings in many cases. Accordingly, degrees from our Faculty enjoy an excellent reputation among employers.

What can you do at this stage to prepare for these changes to the regulations?

To help you find the quickest and easiest way of obtaining the information on what exactly the changes to the regulations mean for you, there are a few basic things you need to consider.

Next step: "What should I do to prepare?"

Was ist neu?

Die Reglementsänderung per HS16 bietet Ihnen etliche Vorteile im Hinblick auf die Gestaltung Ihres Studiums und der Präsentation Ihrer Fähigkeiten nach aussen. Die Übersicht dient Ihnen auch als Entscheidungshilfe, falls Sie wählen können, ob Sie nach altem oder neuem Reglement abschliessen möchten.

Mehr Gestaltungsfreiheit dank Haupt- und Nebenfach

Die wesentliche Neuerung besteht darin, dass Sie die Möglichkeit haben, Ihr Studium an unserer Fakultät in ein Haupt- und ein Nebenfach zu gliedern. So können Sie sich auf ein Fachgebiet Ihres Interesses spezialisieren.

Auf Bachelorstufe kann das  Nebenfach sowohl zur Ergänzung und Erweiterung Ihres Curriculums eingesetzt werden als auch bereits für eine erste Spezialisierung. Sie haben dabei die Wahl: Das Nebenfachstudienprogramm kann entweder an der Wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Fakultät oder fakultätsfremd absolviert werden. Das Angebot an fakultätsfremden Nebenfächern ist online verfügbar.

Informationen zu den Studienprogrammen

Auf Masterstufe können Sie sich dank dem Nebenfach sehr konkret auf ein Fachgebiet Ihres Interesses spezialisieren und in Ihrem CV einen Akzent setzen.

Ihre Spezialisierung wird klar sichtbar

Gleichzeitig wird auf Ihrem Abschlusszeugnis für Aussenstehende besser sichtbar, welche Schwerpunkte Sie in Ihrem Studium gesetzt haben. Das unterstützt Ihre Profilbildung und ist auf einem Arbeitsmarkt, der immer mehr auf Spezialisten setzt, ein grosser Vorteil.

Neue oder veränderte Studienprogramme und Module

Die Reglementsänderung wurde an allen Instituten auch dazu genutzt, das bestehende Angebot zu überprüfen und wo sinnvoll zu ändern oder neu zu gestalten. So wird in sämtlichen Studiengängen der Wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Fakultät das Hauptfach neu mit einem Nebenfach kombiniert.

Im Bachelorstudiengang Wirtschaftswissenschaften bleiben die bisherigen Schwerpunkte Volkswirtschaftslehre, Betriebswirtschaftslehre und Banking and Finance als Hauptfächer in sehr ähnlicher Form erhalten. Der bisherige Schwerpunkt Management and Economics entfällt und muss von Studierenden, die vor HS16 ihr Studium begonnen haben  bis HS17 abgeschlossen werden.

Im Masterstudiengang Wirtschaftswissenschaften bleiben die bisherigen Schwerpunkte Volkswirtschaftslehre, Betriebswirtschaftslehre, Banking and Finance und Management and Economics in sehr ähnlicher Form erhalten.

Im Bachelorstudiengang Informatik gibt es fünf Hauptfachstudienprogramme im Angebot. Die bisherigen Schwerpunkte Wirtschaftsinformatik und Softwaresysteme bleiben als Hauptfächer in modernisierter Form erhalten. Neu hinzu kommen die Hauptfächer Mensch und Computer sowie Informatik und Ökonomik. Der bisherige Schwerpunkt Angewandte Informatik entfällt und wird ersetzt durch das neue Programm Informatik mit Naturwissenschaften.

Im Masterstudiengang Informatik gibt es fünf Hauptfachstudienprogramme im Angebot: Wirtschaftsinformatik und Softwaresysteme, Mensch und Computer, Informatik und Ökonomik sowie Data Science. Der bisherige Schwerpunkt Multimodale und kognitive Systeme entfällt und kann von Studierenden, die vor HS16 ihr Studium begonnen haben noch bis HS17 abgeschlossen werden.

Das Studienangebot ab Herbstsemester 2016 finden Sie in der Studienordnung:

Reglemente

Bachelorstudiengang Wirtschaftswissenschaften ab S. 28

Masterstudiengang Wirtschaftswissenschaften ab S. 31

Bachelorstudiengang Informatik ab S. 35

Masterstudiengang Informatik ab S. 39

Details zu Änderungen im Modulangebot finden Sie je nach Studienstufe in den Wegleitungen zur Überführung in das neue Reglement. Alle für Sie relevanten Wegleitungen finden Sie unter "Wie betrifft es mich?".

Neue Berechnungsmethode der Abschlussnote im Bachelorstudium

Spezifisch für Bachelorstudierende gilt eine neue Berechnungsmethode für die  Abschlussnote. Während die Noten des Assessments bei einem Abschluss nach altem Reglement nicht für den Abschluss verwendet wurden, gilt neu, dass die Noten des Assessments bei einem Abschluss nach neuem Reglement für den Abschluss verwendet werden.

Vielversprechende Perspektiven auf dem Arbeitsmarkt

Ob nach altem oder neuem Reglement - das Studium der Wirtschaftswissenschaften und das Studium der Informatik bietet Ihnen hervorragende Berufschancen in den unterschiedlichsten Fachbereichen.

Dank ihrer breiten Forschungstätigkeit gehört die Wirtschaftswissenschaftliche Fakultät der Universität Zürich zu den Besten im deutschsprachigen Raum und belegt in vielen Rankings Spitzenplätze. Entsprechend geniesst ein Abschluss unserer Fakultät bei Arbeitgebern ein hohes Ansehen.

Wie können Sie sich nun auf diese Reglementsänderung vorbereiten?

Um möglichst einfach und schnell herauszufinden, was die Reglementsänderung für Sie konkret bedeutet, helfen ein paar grundlegende vorbereitende Überlegungen.

Gehen Sie jetzt weiter zu "Wie bereite ich mich vor?"