Frequently Asked Questions

Below you will find the answers to questions we are frequently asked. We continually update this page to include questions we receive.

Categories:

New structure of studies
Transition to the new regulations

Transfer to RVO16 when enrolling for the new semester
Assessment level and compulsory program
Module changes and crediting
Miscellaneous

New structure of studies

What are the key differences between the old regulations and the new ones?

One of the key differences is that studies have been divided into major study programs and minor study programs under the new regulations. This offers a number of advantages: Not only does the new program structure give you more flexibility when determining your areas of specialization, you can also have your specializations included separately on your Academic Record – making them more visible to future employers, for example.

For more information on the new regulations, visit "What's new?".

Which major and minor programs are being offered to students in a Bachelor’s- or Master’s degree program as of HS16? Which programs remain the same and which have been added?

The following figure gives you an overview of all the major and minor programs that are being offered under the new regulations at the Faculty of Business, Economics and Informatics.

Do I have to choose two different specializations or can I choose the same ones for my major and minor program?

Both options are possible: You can either choose two different specializations (e.g., Business Administration as a major program and Economics as a minor program) or focus on one specialization (e.g., Business Administration as both major and minor program).

I am studying Management and Economics – how can I best switch to the new regulations?

To Master’s students, Management and Economics will still be offered under the new regulations. However, some modules might change. Under the new regulations, no specific ME seminars will be offered. However, all seminars will be credited as ME seminars under the condition that they can be credited towards the core elective areas of ME (BLW 1-6 or ECON 2-3). For detailed information regarding the transition, please refer to "How am I Affected?".

At Bachelor’s level, the Management and Economics study program is being discontinued from HS16. It is possible, however, to complete studies in progress by the end of HS17. Management and Economics is a mixture of Business Administration and Economics; in the future, these two specializations can still be combined at Bachelor’s level as follows: From HS16 on a major and a minor program can be chosen and hence it will still be possible to combine Business Administration and Economics studies (either Business Administration as a major program and Economics as a minor program or vice versa). Another possibility is to choose Business Administration or Economics as a major program and General Business and Economics as a minor program.

Table: Major and minor program combinations that substitute ME at Bachelor's level

For students from other faculties pursuing a minor program at our Faculty, the Management and Economics specialization is also being discontinued from HS16. All modules for the minor degree in Management and Economics have to be completed up to the end of HS17. If this is not a realistic prospect we strongly advise to switch to another minor program as part of the online semester enrollment for HS16.

Transition to the new regulations

How do I know whether I need to complete my studies under the new regulations or the old ones?

The various scenarios we have outlined in "How am I affected?" explain the options you have in your specific case.

When do I need to request to switch to the new regulations?

If the scenario that applies to you in "How am I affected"? states that you are able to or must switch to the new regulations, we recommend that you act as soon as possible. If you have not yet requested to switch to the new regulations during semester enrollment for HS16, you should do so during semester enrollment for FS17 (taking place in November 2016). If you plan for a switch, you can take modules in accordance with the new regulations already in HS16.

What happens if the plans I have made up to the end of FS16 do not work out because I fail modules, for instance?

To avoid this happening as far as possible, we strongly recommend that you err on the side of caution when you are making plans and act promptly if you are switching to the new regulations. If you are in any doubt, at the end of FS16 you can reappraise of the stage you have reached.

I am studying Applied Informatics (I started before HS15) and am not sure if I will be able to complete my studies up to HS17. How should I proceed?

If you plan your studies in a way that allows you to earn 30 ECTS credits per semester (corresponding to the number of ECTS credits per semester required to complete studies within the standard period of study) and if only a few ECTS credits are missing by HS17 for graduation, an individual solution must be found. Please contact the Dean’s Office well in advance.

I had planned to finish my studies by the end of HS17 under the old regulations. This plan, however, did not work out and I must switch to the new regulations now. How do I do that?

Basically, the provisions as described on our website apply: Changes to Regulations. Please observe the guidelines published on the following website in particular: "What's in the Regulations?".

If it is not evident to you how the transition works in your individual case, you are required to submit a petition to the examination delegate including a suggestion for your transition.

Please observe the general standards that apply to filing a petition and submit a completed registration for graduation under the new regulations together with your petition for transition. In the registration form, you assign your modules to the areas which you want them to be credited toward. After your petition has been examined, you will receive a binding notification about how the coursework completed so far can be transferred.

BA OEC registration for graduation RVO16 (German only) (DOCX, 336 KB)

BSc INF registration for graduation RVO16 (German only) (DOCX, 252 KB)

BSc INW registration for graduation RVO16 (German only) (DOCX, 203 KB)

MA OEC registration for graduation RVO16 (DOCX, 394 KB)

MSc INF Anmeldung Studienabschluss RVO16 (DOCX, 353 KB)

Please note that you must choose a minor program under the new regulations. Depending on which major and minor program you combine, you can transfer your modules more or less easily. Make a clever choice.

Basically, the following principles apply:

  • An assessment level completed under the old regulations can be transferred as a whole.
  • Compulsory modules can usually be transferred as compulsory modules.
  • The areas to which a core elective module can be credited under the new regulations apply, even if you completed the module in a previous semester when you were still studying under the old regulations.

Transfer to RVO16 when enrolling for the new semester

How do I proceed with the semester enrollment when I have decided to change to the new regulations (RVO16) ?

Students in a major program at the Faculty of Business, Economics and Informatics

You have to change your degree program according to the following instructions:

  1. Navigate to the online semester enrollment and register
  2. Click the button "Semestereinschreibung ändern"
  3. Click the button "Studiengang ändern"
  4. Choose the new RVO16 degree program
  5. Choose the desired study program (= major) from RVO16
  6. Choose your minor program

The titles of the new degree programs are indicated with RVO16. Instructions how to change the degree programs can also be found on this website.

Students from PhF / ThF / MNF in a minor program at the Faculty of Business, Economics and  Informatics

Choose a minor program according to our new regulations (RVO16). Please consider the following points:

The  minor programs in line with the old regulations as well as those in line with the new regulations may be called identically. The minor programs in line with the old regulations can be identified by RO04 or RO06 in their title.

The curricula of the new study programs may have significantly changed even though the program is called the same.

Management and Economics will no longer be offered as a minor program and can only be completed in line with the old regulations up to and including HS17.

The minor study program I have chosen no longer appeals to me. Do I still have to complete it?

No. The major and minor study programs can be changed at any time during the semester enrollment provided you did not have additional requirements for admission. However, in the semester you intend to complete your studies it is compulsory to be enrolled for those study programs you want to obtain your degree. If you choose a minor program at a different faculty, please do also consider this faculty's rules and regulations.

Assessment level and compulsory program

Does it matter whether I have my completed assessment level credited under the old regulations or the new ones?

Yes. Completed assessment levels will be credited in full under both the old regulations and the new ones. However, it is important to bear in mind that assessment-level grades are counted toward the final degree under the new regulations, but not under the old ones.

I didn't know that I would have to switch to the new regulations and that my assessment-level grades would be counted toward my final degree grade. Isn't that unfair?

We have carried out a detailed analysis of assessment-level grades and degree grades from recent years and have determined that the grades are usually very similar. On average, differences between the assessment-level grade and the degree grade are in the low decimal range even despite the fact that the assessment-level grade had not been counted toward the degree grade previously. As such, this change will have no or very little impact on the degree grade for the vast majority of students.

Module changes and crediting

How can I still use the modules I have already taken?

Advice regarding crediting coursework that has already been completed can be found in the Guidelines: "Coursework Crediting and Transition" (different documents per degree program and level of study). 

Which modules are subject to change?

An overview of the modules offered and possible changes to certain modules can be found in the Guidelines: "Overview: Compulsory Modules during Transition Period" (available for Bachelor’s and Master’s levels). 

Bachelor: Is it possible not to take "Informatics for Economists II" and "Informatics for Economists III" now?

Generally speaking, it is. But you must be aware of the following circumstances: A final degree under the old regulations will then no longer be possible and there is a risk that your studies will take longer. The new module "Introduction to Scientific Methods" will take place for the first time in HS16 and, if necessary, cannot be repeated until HS17.

This is why we recommend completing all compulsory modules already now. When switching to the new regulations, additional ECTS credits from the compulsory area can be credited toward the core elective area.  

Master: Which modules can be credited toward the BF2-BF5 core elective areas?

All modules from the BF core elective area that have been completed up to the end of FS16 can be credited to all new BF2-BF5 core elective areas. As of HS16, please refer to the course catalogue for identifying the modules allocated to the BF2-BF5 core elective areas. 

I want to pursue one of the minor programs at Master’s level offered by the Department of Banking and Finance. But the compulsory modules are subject to change. Can I already take them now?

The compulsory modules for a minor program at Master’s level offered by the Department of Banking and Finance will change as from HS16. This means they will be offered from HS16 and can only be selected from that point in time.

Miscellaneous

How do I have a mobility semester credited under the new regulations?

Mobility semesters will be credited in the same way as before, i.e., using the credit-transfer agreement. For details, refer to Crediting Coursework from a Mobility Semester.

Bachelor's thesis: The period for completion of the Bachelor's thesis was 4 months under the old regulations and 6 months under the new ones. Which time specification applies to me?

Students who start working on their Bachelor's thesis in HS16 (1 August 2016) or later must complete it within a period of six months and for a scope of 18 ECTS credits (the reference date is the date of receipt of the project definition from the Dean's Office). This is independent of whether you will complete your degree under the old regulations or the new ones.

Theses

Häufig gestellte Fragen

Nachfolgend finden Sie Antworten auf häufig gestellte Fragen. Diese Seite ergänzen wir laufend mit Fragen, die an uns herangetragen werden.

Kategorien:

Neuer Studienaufbau
Überführung in das neue Reglement
Umschreibung bei der Semestereinschreibung
Assessment und Pflichtprogramm
Moduländerungen und Anrechnung
Diverses

Neuer Studienaufbau

Welches sind die wichtigsten Unterschiede zwischen dem alten und dem neuen Reglement?

Einer der wichtigsten Unterschiede ist, dass das Studium nach neuem Reglement in ein Haupt- und ein Nebenfachstudienprogramm unterteilt wird. Das bringt mehrere Vorteile mit sich. Zum einen gibt Ihnen dieser neue Studienaufbau mehr Flexibilität beim Setzen Ihrer fachlichen Schwerpunkte. Zum anderen können Sie Ihre Spezialisierung im Abschlusszeugnis separat ausweisen und - zum Beispiel gegenüber einem zukünftigen Arbeitgeber - deutlicher hervorheben.

Weitere Informationen zum neuen Reglement finden Sie unter "Was ist neu?".

Welche Haupt- und Nebenfächer werden für Bachelor- und Masterstudierende angeboten? Welche Fächer gibt es weiterhin und welche kommen neu hinzu?

Die folgende Grafik gibt Ihnen einen Überblick über alle Haupt- und Nebenfächer, die im neuen Reglement an der Wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Fakultät angeboten werden.

Muss ich im Haupt- und im Nebenfach zwei verschiedene Fächer belegen oder kann ich zweimal dasselbe Fach wählen?

Beides ist möglich: Sie können entweder zwei unterschiedliche Fächer belegen, also zum Beispiel BWL im Hauptfach und VWL im Nebenfach, oder Sie konzentrieren sich auf ein Fach, wählen also zum Beispiel BWL als Haupt- und als Nebenfach.

Ich studiere Management and Economics – wie kann ich am besten in das neue Reglement wechseln?

Für Masterstudierende wird Management and Economics auch im neuen Reglement weiterhin angeboten. Einige Module können sich allerdings ändern. Im neuen Reglement werden keine spezifischen ME Seminare mehr angeboten. Alle Seminare, welche eine Anrechenbarkeit im Wahlpflichtbereich von ME (BWL 1-6 oder ECON 2-3) haben, werden als ME Seminare angerechnet. Die detaillierten Regeln zur Überführung finden Sie unter „Wie betrifft es mich?“.

Auf Bachelorstufe gibt es das Studienprogramm Management and Economics ab HS16 nicht mehr, ein angefangenes Studium kann aber noch bis spätestens Ende HS17 abgeschlossen werden. Management and Economics ist eine Mischung aus betriebswirtschaftlichen und volkswirtschaftlichen Modulen und diese zwei Studienfächer lassen sich auch in Zukunft auf Bachelorstufe kombinieren: Sie können ab dem HS16 ein Haupt- und ein Nebenfach wählen und damit weiterhin eine Kombination aus BWL und VWL studieren (entweder BWL als Hauptfach und VWL als Nebenfach oder umgekehrt). Alternativ können Sie auch BWL oder VWL im Hauptfach und Allgemeine Wirtschaftswissenschaften im Nebenfach wählen.

Grafik: Haupt- und Nebenfachkombinationen, die ME auf Bachelorstufe ersetzen 

Für Nebenfachstudierende anderer Fakultäten wird Management and Economics ab HS16 ebenfalls nicht mehr angeboten. Sie müssen alle Module des Nebenfachs Management and Economics bis Ende HS17 absolviert haben. Wenn das für Sie nicht realistisch ist, empfehlen wir Ihnen, bereits bei der Semestereinschreibung auf das HS16 in ein anderes Nebenfachstudienprogramm zu wechseln.

Überführung in das neue Reglement

Wie weiss ich, ob ich mein Studium nach neuem oder altem Reglement abschliessen muss?

Welche Möglichkeiten Ihnen in Ihrem konkreten Fall offen stehen, erfahren Sie in den verschiedenen Szenarien, die wir unter "Wie betrifft es mich?" beschrieben haben.

Wann muss ich die Überführung in das neue Reglement beantragen?

Wenn Sie unter "Wie betrifft es mich?" Ihr Szenario gelesen haben und eine Überführung in das neue Reglement möglich oder nötig ist, empfehlen wir Ihnen, dass Sie baldmöglichst aktiv werden. Falls Sie Ihre Überführung in das neue Reglement nicht bereits bei Ihrer Semestereinschreibung für das HS16 beantragt haben, sollten Sie dies bei der Semestereinschreibung für das FS17, welche im November 2016 stattfindet, nachholen. Sie können bei einem geplanten Wechsel bereits im HS16 die benötigten Module nach neuem Reglement belegen.

Was geschieht, wenn meine voraussichtliche Planung per Ende FS16 nicht stimmt, weil ich zum Beispiel Module nicht bestanden habe?

Um solche Fälle möglichst zu vermeiden, empfehlen wir Ihnen dringend eher vorsichtig zu planen und einen allfälligen Wechsel in das neue Reglement bereits frühzeitig vorzunehmen. Im Zweifelsfall kann aber auch noch Ende FS16 eine neue Standortbestimmung erfolgen. 

Ich studiere Angewandte Informatik (ich habe vor HS15 damit begonnen) und bin nicht sicher, ob ich es schaffen werde, bis HS17 abzuschliessen. Was soll ich tun?

Wenn Sie Ihr Studium so planen, dass Sie pro Semester 30 ECTS Credits absolvieren möchten (dies entspricht der Anzahl ECTS Credits pro Semester für die Regelstudienzeit), und Sie im HS17 nur wegen wenigen ECTS Credits nicht abschliessen können, wird eine individuelle Lösung gefunden. Melden Sie sich dazu frühzeitig beim Dekanat.

Ich hatte geplant, mein Studium per Ende HS17 nach altem Reglement abzuschliessen. Dies ist mir jetzt doch nicht möglich und ich muss in das neue Reglement wechseln. Wie gehe ich vor?

Grundsätzlich gelten die Regelungen gemäss unserer Website: Reglementsänderung 2016. Beachten Sie insbesondere die Wegleitungen auf folgender Website: "Was steht drin?".

Sollte die Überführung für Sie nicht selbsterklärend sein, reichen Sie ein Gesuch bei dem oder der Prüfungsdelegierten ein, welches einen Überführungsvorschlag beinhaltet.

Neben den üblichen Angaben für Gesuche muss dem Überführungsgesuch ein ausgefülltes Studienabschlussformular nach neuem Reglement beigelegt werden. Darin geben Sie an, in welchen Bereichen Sie die Module anrechnen wollen. Ihr Gesuch wird geprüft und Sie erhalten einen verbindlichen Bescheid, wie Ihre bisherigen Leistungen überführbar sind.

BA OEC Anmeldung Studienabschluss RVO16 (DOCX, 336 KB)

BSc INF Anmeldung Studienabschluss RVO16 (DOCX, 252 KB)

BSc INW Anmeldung Studienabschluss RVO16 (DOCX, 203 KB)

MA OEC Anmeldung Studienabschluss RVO16 (DOCX, 394 KB)

MSc INF Anmeldung Studienabschluss RVO16 (DOCX, 353 KB)

Beachten Sie bitte, dass Sie im neuen Reglement ein Nebenfach wählen müssen. Je nach Kombination von Haupt- und Nebenfach ist die Überführung der Module besser möglich. Wählen Sie entsprechend.

Grundsätzlich gelten folgende Prinzipien:

  • Ein Assessment nach altem Reglement wird vollständig angerechnet.
  • Pflichtmodule werden in der Regel als Pflichtmodule übernommen.
  • Die Anrechenbarkeiten von Wahlpflichtmodulen gemäss neuem Reglement gelten, auch wenn Sie das Modul in früheren Semestern absolviert und damals noch nach altem Reglement studiert haben.

Umschreibung bei der Semestereinschreibung

Wie muss ich bei der Einschreibung vorgehen, wenn ich in das neue Reglement (RVO16) wechseln möchte?

Hauptfachstudierende WWF:

Sie müssen Ihren Studiengang wechseln und zwar wie folgt:

  1. Gehen Sie zur Online-Semestereinschreibung und melden Sie sich an
  2. Klicken Sie in der Eingabemaske auf den Button "Semestereinschreibung ändern"
  3. Klicken Sie in der Eingabemaske auf den Button "Studiengang ändern"
  4. Wählen Sie den neuen Studiengang RVO16
  5. Wählen Sie das gewünschte Studienprogramm (=Hauptfach) aus der RVO16
  6. Wählen Sie ein Nebenfach

Die neuen Studiengänge sind im Titel mit RVO16 bezeichnet. Eine Anleitung wie Sie den Studiengang ändern, finden Sie auch auf der folgenden Website zur Semestereinschreibung.

Nebenfachstudierende PhF , ThF und MNF

Wählen Sie ein Nebenfach gemäss unserem neuen Reglement (RVO16). Dabei ist folgendes zu beachten:

Die Nebenfächer nach altem und nach neuem Reglement heissen teilweise identisch. Die Nebenfächer nach altem Reglement sind mit RO04 bzw. RO06 gekennzeichnet.

Die Curricula in den neuen Fächern haben sich teilweise deutlich verändert, obwohl das Fach gleich heisst.

Management and Economics wird nicht mehr als Nebenfach angeboten und kann nur im alten Reglement bis und mit HS17 noch abgeschlossen werden.

Mein gewähltes Nebenfach gefällt mir nicht, muss ich es trotzdem abschliessen?

Nein. Das Haupt- und Nebenfach können bei der Semestereinschreibung jederzeit gewechselt werden, sofern Sie keine Auflagen bei der Zulassung hatten. Im Semester, in welchem Sie den Abschluss erwerben wollen, muss die Einschreibung zwingend auf die Fächer lauten, in welchen Sie den Abschluss erwerben wollen. Beachten Sie zudem bei fakultätsfremden Nebenfächern die Vorschriften und Reglemente der jeweiligen Fakultät.

Assessment und Pflichtprogramm

Macht es einen Unterschied, ob ich mir mein abgeschlossenes Assessment nach altem oder neuem Reglement anrechnen lasse?

Ja. Ein abgeschlossenes Assessment wird Ihnen zwar sowohl nach altem als auch nach neuem Reglement vollumfänglich angerechnet. Allerdings gilt es zu beachten, dass die Noten des Assessments im Rahmen des neuen Reglements für den Abschluss verwendet werden, während die Noten des Assessments nach altem Reglement nicht für den Abschluss verwendet werden.

Ich wusste nicht, dass ich ins neue Reglement wechseln muss und die Noten aus dem Assessment nun in die Abschlussnote einfliessen. Ist das nicht unfair?

Eine genaue Analyse der Assessmentnoten und der Abschlussnoten in den vergangenen Jahren hat gezeigt, dass die Noten in der Regel sehr ähnlich sind. Die Abweichungen zwischen Assessment- und Abschlussnote sind im Durchschnitt im niedrigen Nachkommastellenbereich, und das obwohl die Assessmentnote bisher nicht in die Abschlussnote mit einberechnet wurde. Insofern wird diese Änderung bei der grossen Mehrzahl der Studierenden keine oder nur sehr geringe Auswirkungen auf die Abschlussnote haben.

Moduländerungen und Anrechnung

Wie kann ich meine bisher absolvierten Module weiterverwenden?

Tipps zur Anrechnung abgeschlossener Module finden Sie in den Wegleitungen "Anrechenbarkeiten und Überführung"(separate Dokumente pro Studiengang und Studienstufe).

Bei welchen Modulen gibt es Änderungen?

Eine Übersicht über das Modulangebot und allfällige Änderungen bei bestimmten Modulen finden Sie in der Wegleitung "Übersicht Modulangebot in der Übergangsphase"(jeweils verfügbar für Bachelor und Master). 

Bachelor: Ist es möglich, jetzt die Module "Informatik für Ökonomen II" und "Informatik für Ökonomen III" nicht mehr zu machen?

Grundsätzlich ja, aber über folgende Sachverhalten müssen Sie sich bewusst sein: Ein Abschluss nach altem Reglement ist dann nicht mehr möglich und es besteht das Risiko, dass sich Ihr Studium verlängert. Die Veranstaltung "Einführung in das wissenschaftliche Arbeiten" wird zum ersten Mal im HS16 angeboten und eine allenfalls nötige Wiederholung wird erst wieder im HS17 möglich sein. 

Daher empfehlen wir Ihnen, dass Sie bereits jetzt alle Pflichtmodule absolvieren. Bei einem Wechsel in das neue Reglement können überzählige ECTS Credits aus dem Pflichtbereich im Wahlpflichtbereich angerechnet werden. 

Master: Welche Module werden in den Wahlpflichtbereichen BF2 bis BF5 anrechenbar sein?

Alle Module des Wahlpflichtbereichs BF, welche bis und mit FS16 absolviert wurden, können in allen neuen Wahlpflichtbereichen BF2 – BF5 angerechnet werden. Ab HS16 gilt die Zuteilung zu den Wahlpflichtbereichen BF2 – BF5 gemäss Anrechenbarkeit im Vorlesungsverzeichnis.

Ich möchte im Master ein Nebenfach aus dem Angebot des Instituts für Banking und Finance belegen. Dabei ändern die Pflichtmodule. Kann ich diese jetzt schon belegen?

Die Pflichtfächer, welche sich bei einem Master-Nebenfachstudienprogramm aus dem Angebot des Instituts für Banking und Finance per HS16 verändern, werden ab HS16 angeboten und können erst dann besucht werden.

Diverses

Wie lassen sich meine Punkte aus dem Mobilitätssemester im neuen Reglement anrechnen?

Die Anrechnung von Punkten aus dem Mobilitätssemester ist wie bisher mit der Anrechnungsvereinbarung abzuklären. Detaillierte Informationen finden Sie unter Anrechnung - Leistungen aus dem Mobilitätssemester

Bachelorarbeit: Im alten Reglement war die Frist für die Bachelorarbeit 4 Monate, im neuen Reglement ist sie 6 Monate. Wie lange habe ich nun Zeit für meine Bachelorarbeit?

Ab HS16 (1. August 2016) begonnene Bachelorarbeiten sind innerhalb einer Frist von 6 Monaten fertigzustellen und entsprechen 18 ECTS Credits (Stichtag ist die Entgegennahme der Themenstellung am Schalter des Dekanats). Dies ist unabhängig davon, nach welchem Reglement Sie abschliessen werden.

Abschlussarbeiten