Procedures

When is the best time for a mobility semester? What are the prerequisites? A mobility semester requires a good deal of planning – make sure you start early enough.

Time

The assessment level must have been successfully completed before the mobility semester begins. At Bachelor's level, the fifth semester is recommended; at Master's level, the third semester is recommended.

If you will not complete the mobility semester until shortly before you are due to obtain your degree, it is important to remember that the official transcript of records from the host university must have been submitted no later than the registration for graduation deadline.

Selecting a university

Find out about the existing programs and partner universities. First-hand reports from former mobility students will also give you a first impression. These can be found on the website of the International Relations Office:

First-hand reports

Research the semester dates, language of instruction and course offerings of the universities that you are considering.

Proof of language skills

A mobility semester should not be considered a language studies program. Very good language skills in the language of instruction are required (level B2). If you apply for an exchange program coordinated by the Faculty of Business, Economics and Informatics, it is sufficient to demonstrate the relevant language skills in a plausible way (e.g., Swiss university entrance qualification, enrollment in one of our English-language Master's programs or the like). In the case that a partner university requires a more advanced language level (C1) or only accepts certain certificates, it is the responsibility of the student to produce this on time.

Exceptions for Faculty agreements: Applications for the Faculty agreements with the USA, Canada, and Singapore must include valid TOEFL or IELTS certificates.

Good language skills in the language of the country are an advantage. In some cases language tests must be completed in the semester prior to the application period.

Language preparation

Financing

During the course of a mobility semester, you remain enrolled at UZH and continue to pay semester fees here; you are exempted from paying tuition fees at the partner university. The SEMP Programme and some university-wide agreements include partial grants. You will find information on additional financing possibilities on the International Relations Office website.

Financing possibilities

Application

There is only one guaranteed application deadline per year for the entire subsequent academic year (fall and spring semesters). If available, any free offerings for spring semester are posted again in July. It is possible and recommended that you apply for multiple mobility programs. The responsible contacts and helpful documents for the application can be found in the download area at right.

Students apply online via the Mobility Online application platform run by the International Relations Office. The application platform is expected to open on 1 November 2017. The application deadline for fall semester 2018 and spring semester 2019 is on 10 January 2018

Please use the link below to apply for the 2018/2019 academic year:

Mobility Online

The following documents must be uploaded to Mobility Online:

Application documents
Student information sheet
Curriculum vitae
Motivation letter (1 A4 page) in German or English
Proof of matriculation at UZH
Copy of current transcript of records
Proof of language skills: Very good language skills in the language of instruction are required (level B2). If you apply for an exchange program coordinated by our Faculty, it is sufficient to demonstrate the relevant language skills in a plausible way (e.g., Swiss university entrance qualification, enrollment in one of our English-language Master's programs). In the case that a partner university requires a more advanced language level (C1) or only accepts certain certificates, it is the responsibility of the student to produce this on time.
If available: Academic Record from Bachelor's degree
Copy of passport or national identity card (foreign students must also include their residence permit)
Passport photo (max. 500x500 pixel)

The nominees will be selected by the Faculty of Business, Economics and Informatics by mid-February 2018.

Nomination and application to a partner university

After you have successfully applied for an offering, you must be nominated by the relevant UZH offices (see responsible contacts in the download area at right). The final decision on admission comes from the respective partner university. As a rule, students who are nominated are accepted. Be aware, however, that applying to the partner university is a separate application process. The partner university may require some of the same documents required by UZH. These always include a copy of your current transcript of records in German and English. Since 2016, there has been the opportunity to request an English transcript of records from the Dean's Office. Documents issued before 2016 can be translated using the templates in the download area at right.

Abstention/cancelation

Registration is binding. Changes may only be made for a compelling reason and must be explained to the partner university, the Dean's Office of the Faculty of Business, Economics and Informatics, as well as the International Relations Office of UZH in writing.

Transferring credit

The eligibility for transfer of credits must necessarily be clarified by concluding a credit-transfer agreement. This is done after nomination for a specific partner university and before the semester abroad is actually started. The credit-transfer agreement need not be uploaded to Mobility Online.

Transferring credit

Vorgehen

Wann ist der beste Zeitpunkt für ein Mobilitätssemester? Was sind die Voraussetzungen? Ein Mobilitätssemester benötigt einiges an Planung - fangen Sie früh genug damit an.

Zeitpunkt

Bei Antritt des Mobilitätssemesters muss die Assessmentstufe erfolgreich absolviert sein. Auf Bachelor-Stufe empfiehlt sich das 5. Semester, auf Master-Stufe das 3. Semester.

Bitte beachten Sie, sofern Sie das Mobilitätssemester erst kurz vor Studienabschluss absolvieren, dass spätestens bei Anmeldeschluss zum Studienabschluss der offizielle Leistungsausweis der Gastuniversität vorliegen muss.

Wahl der Universität

Informieren Sie sich über die bestehenden Programme und Partneruniversitäten. Einen ersten Eindruck vermitteln auch die Erfahrungsberichte von ehemaligen Mobilitätsstudierenden auf der Webseite der Abteilung Internationale Beziehungen:

Erfahrungsberichte

Recherchieren Sie Informationen zu Semesterdaten, Unterrichtssprache und Kursangebot der Universitäten, die für Sie in Frage kommen.

Sprachnachweise

Ein Mobilitätssemester ist kein Sprachaufenthalt. Es werden sehr gute Kenntnisse der Unterrichtssprache vorausgesetzt (Niveau B2). Bei der Bewerbung um einen Austauschplatz der Wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Fakultät genügt die plausible Darstellung der entsprechenden Sprachkenntnisse (z.B. CH-Matur, Einschreibung in einen unserer englischsprachigen Masterstudiengänge u.ä.). Verlangt eine Partneruniversität einen Nachweis über ein höheres Sprachniveau (C1) oder akzeptiert sie nur gewisse Zertifikate, liegt es in der Verantwortung jedes Einzelnen, dies rechtzeitig vorweisen zu können.

Ausnahme Fakultätsabkommen: Für Bewerbungen auf die Fakultätsabkommen in Kanada, Singapore und der USA sind gültige TOEFL- oder IELTS-Zertifikate beizulegen.

Gute Kenntnisse der Landessprache sind von Vorteil. Sprachtests müssen unter Umständen bereits im Semester vor der Bewerbungsfrist abgelegt werden.

Sprachvorbereitung

Finanzierung

Im Rahmen eines Mobilitätssemesters bleiben Sie während des Auslandaufenthaltes an der UZH eingeschrieben, bezahlen hier weiterhin die Semestergebühren und sind an der Partneruniversität von den Studiengebühren befreit. Das SEMP-Programm sowie einzelne gesamtuniversitäre Abkommen entrichten Teilstipendien. Informationen zu weiteren Finanzierungsmöglichkeiten finden Sie auf der Webseite der Abteilung Internationale Beziehungen.

Finanzierungsmöglichkeiten

Bewerbung

Es gibt nur eine garantierte Bewerbungsfrist pro Jahr für das gesamte folgende akademische Jahr (Herbst- und Frühlingssemester). Im Juli werden nach Möglichkeit die Restplätze für das FS nochmals ausgeschrieben. Bewerbungen für mehrere Mobilitätsprogramme sind möglich und auch empfohlen. Eine Zuständigkeitsliste sowie hilfreiche Dokumente für die Bewerbung finden Sie im Downloadbereich rechts.

Die Bewerbung erfolgt online über das Bewerbungsportal Mobility Online der Abteilung Internationale Beziehungen. Das Anmeldeportal wird voraussichtlich ab 1. November 2017 geöffnet sein. Die Bewerbungsfrist für das Herbstsemester 2018 und Frühjahrsemester 2019 endet am 10. Januar 2018.

Den Link für die Anmeldung für das akademische Jahr 2018/2019 finden Sie nachfolgend:

Mobility-Online

Folgende Dokumente müssen auf Mobility Online hochgeladen werden:

Bewerbungsunterlagen
Übersichtsblatt
Lebenslauf
Motivationsschreiben (1 A4-Seite) in deutsch oder englisch
Nachweis über die Immatrikulation an der UZH
Kopie des aktuellen Leistungsausweises
Sprachnachweis: Es werden sehr gute Kenntnisse der Unterrichtssprache vorausgesetzt (Niveau B2). Bei der Bewerbung bei uns um einen Austauschplatz genügt die plausible Darstellung der entsprechenden Sprachkenntnisse (z.B. CH-Matur, Einschreibung in einen unserer englischsprachigen Masterstudiengänge). Verlangt eine Partneruniversität einen Nachweis über ein höheres Sprachniveau (C1) oder akzeptiert sie nur gewisse Zertifikate, liegt es in der Verantwortung jedes Einzelnen, dies rechtzeitig vorweisen zu können.
Falls vorhanden: Bachelor-Abschlusszeugnis
Kopie des Passes oder der Identitätskarte (bei ausländischer Staatsbürgerschaft auch die Aufenthaltsbewilligung beilegen)
Passfoto (max. 500x500 Pixel

Die Nominierung erfolgt durch die Wirtschaftswissenschaftliche Fakultät bis Mitte Februar 2018.

Nominierung und Anmeldung an der Partneruniversität

Nachdem Sie sich erfolgreich für einen Platz beworben haben, erfolgt die Nominierung durch die entsprechenden Stellen der UZH (siehe Zuständigkeitsliste im Downloadbereich rechts). Der definitive Zulassungsentscheid liegt bei der entsprechenden Partneruniversität. In der Regel werden nominierte Studierende akzeptiert. Seien Sie sich aber bewusst, dass die Anmeldung an der Partneruniversität ein separates Anmeldeverfahren darstellt. Die Partneruniversität benötigt z. T. dieselben Unterlagen wie die UZH. Dazu gehört immer eine Kopie des aktuellen Leistungsausweises in Deutsch und Englisch. Vorlagen für eine Übersetzung von älteren Dokumenten, die Sie nicht automatisch auch auf Englisch erhalten haben, sind im Download-Bereich rechts zu finden.

Nichtantreten / Abmeldung

Eine Anmeldung ist verbindlich. Jegliche Änderungen sind nur aus gewichtigen Gründen möglich und müssen der Partneruniversität, dem Dekanat der Wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Fakultät sowie der Abteilung Internationale Beziehungen der UZH – schriftlich begründet – mitgeteilt werden.

Anrechnung

Die Anrechenbarkeit von Kursen ist zwingend mit einer Anrechnungsvereinbarung abzuklären. Dies geschieht nach der Nominierung für eine bestimmte Partneruniversität und vor dem tatsächlichen Antreten des Mobilitätssemesters. Die Anrechnungsvereinbarung muss nicht in Mobility Online hochgeladen werden.

Anrechnung