Incoming Mobility

Are you interested in studying for one or two semesters at the Faculty of Business, Economics and Informatics? Below is an overview of the most important information and links.

Planning a mobility semester at UZH

Information about studying at UZH

Would you like general information about studying at UZH? The website of the UZH International Relations Office offers a good summary and a helpful list of links.

Studying at UZH

Brief overview of studying at our Faculty (PDF, 954 KB)

Factsheet Europe (PDF, 2156 KB)

Fachtsheet International (PDF, 2156 KB)

Exchange programs

Look into existing exchange programs at your home university that will make your stay at UZH easier in terms of administrative procedures. The website of the UZH International Relations Office also provides a good overview.

Exchange programs

If there is no program or bilateral agreement between your home university and UZH or our Faculty, it is possible to organize a stay with us as a visiting student independently. The UZH Admissions Office website will give you an overview of independently organized studies at UZH as a visiting student.

Visiting students

The UZH Admissions Office is responsible for visiting students with a foreign educational background.

Admissions Office

English-language courses at our faculty

Five of the seven Master's programs at our faculty are already conducted in English. Accordingly, an average of nearly 70 percent of all Master's level courses are taught in English. The Bachelor's programs are primarily in German, although some courses are also held in English (the proportion is generally higher among advanced courses).

English-language courses 2017 (XLSX, 69 KB)

Application procedures

In order to apply for the exchange program, you must be selected by your home university. After you have been nominated by your university, you need to complete an online application form. Please note that there are different procedures depending on the exchange program you are applying for.

Swiss-European Mobility Programme SEMP

If you intend to apply as a SEMP exchange student, please follow the steps described on the following website:

Application SEMP (no other subject-specific documents have to be submitted)

Faculty and departmental agreements

After you have successfully been nominated by your home university you need to file your application with our faculty. You will receive an email with the link to the online application form after we have received your nomination. Please fill in the form and upload the required application documents on Mobility Online. Afterwards you will receive your personal login details in order to proceed with the online application process.

Required application documents:

  • CV
  • A short letter of motivation (max. 1 page)
  • Proof of registration at your home university
  • Transcript of records
  • Bachelor's degree (for Master's students only)
  • Proof of English language skills at least level C1 (C1, CAE, TOEFL, IELTS)
  • If existing: Proof of German skills
  • Passport photos
  • Copy of passport (page with identification information)
  • A visa application form (if required)

 Applications must be recieved by the mobility office of the faculty no later than 30 March (exchange during fall semester or for full academic year) or 30 September (exchange during spring semester). Once your application has been accepted you will get a confirmation via e-mail as well as further informations about your mobility semester. 

Selecting courses and booking modules

Selection of courses (modules)

Are you looking to find out what courses and lectures you can attend at our Faculty?

Except for a few seminars with limited space, all of the modules in the Bachelor's and Master's levels at our Faculty can be booked by mobility students.

Note: A review of the performance of incomings at our Faculty has shown that a large number of courses, particularly those in the compulsory program, are completed with a failed attempt. We therefore urge you to carefully study the prerequisites for the courses you wish to take, which are listed in the descriptions in the course catalogue, and to take them into consideration. If you are uncertain about specific prerequisites, ask the lecturer for clarification. We advise you not to register for more than 20 - 30 ECTS credits per semester. It may also be helpful for you to use the buddy system of the Student Association of the Faculty to learn about appropriate courses for incomings.

Buddy system of the Student Association of the Faculty

You will find the course offerings of the Faculty of Business, Economics and Informatics in the course catalogue.

Faculty of Business, Economics and Informatics course offerings

The following module codes are used to simplify the use of the course catalogue and the module booking tool:

Program level Module codes for
Business and Economics
Module codes for
Informatics
AssessmentAOECAINF
Bachelor'sBOECBINF
Master'sMOECMINF
Master's and MSc QFMFOEC -

Transferring modules to your home university for credit

You must check with your university in advance whether a specific module can be transferred to your home university for credit. The great freedom in course selection you have when booking modules at UZH does not mean that the courses will automatically be recognized by your home university. The eligibility for transfer of credits is entirely their decision. You will find detailed descriptions of the modules in the UZH course catalogue.

Course catalogue

Booking the selected courses (module booking tool)

Are you looking to find out how to book or drop your selected courses using the module booking tool?

In order to participate in an examination, you must book (or drop, as appropriate) a module in due time by the deadline published in the course catalogue using the module booking tool. The booking tool is opened four weeks before the start of courses each semester and closes at the end of the fourth week of courses. It is not possible to register for or drop a course after this deadline. Remember, therefore, to book the modules for which you wish to take the examination within this time period, and to drop any modules you do not wish to attend.

Instructions for using the module booking tool are also available in English below:

Instruction for using module booking tool (PDF, 248 KB)

Transcript of records

An official transcript of records is prepared and sent out at the end of each semester. Automatically listed on the transcript are all the courses you booked and passed or failed. Failed attempts are always automatically listed on the transcript of records. Courses you booked but did not attend and did not drop in due time within the booking period are also listed on the transcript of records as failed attempts (Grade 1).

Courses attended at the Language Center or at ETH appear automatically on the UZH transcript of records.

The transcript of records is always sent to the address you have saved in the university's contact database. It is therefore imperative that you change your address using the UZH online service before returning home.

UZH online service

The UZH official transcript of records is issued only in German. Should you require an English translation, please contact Andrea Schmitz.

E-mail

UZH grading system

Examination results at UZH are evaluated with grades from 1 to 6. Quarter grades are permitted. The grades have the following meanings:

UZH grades meaning
   6.00excellent
   5.50very good
   5.00good
   4.50satisfactory
   4.00sufficient
< 4.00fail

Incoming Mobilität

Sie interessieren sich dafür, ein oder zwei Semester an der Wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Fakultät der UZH zu studieren? Gerne geben wir Ihnen im Folgenden eine Übersicht zu den wichtigsten Informationen und Links.

Planen eines Mobilitätssemesters an der UZH

Sie möchten sich ganz allgemein über das Studium an der UZH informieren? Die Website der Abteilung Internationale Beziehungen der UZH bietet hierfür einen guten Überblick sowie eine hilfreiche Link-Sammlung.

Studieren an der UZH

Factsheet Europe (PDF, 2152 KB)

Factsheet Internationales (PDF, 2151 KB)

Austauschprogramme

Informieren Sie sich an Ihrer Heimuniversität über bestehende Austauschprogramme, die Ihnen einen Aufenthalt an der UZH in administrativer Hinsicht erleichtern. Einen Überblick bietet auch die Abteilung Internationale Beziehungen der UZH auf ihrer Website.

Austauschprogramme

Sollte an Ihrer Heimuniversität kein Programm oder Abkommen mit der UZH oder unserer Fakultät bestehen, gibt es die Möglichkeit, dass Sie sich einen Gastaufenthalt bei uns selbstständig organisieren. Eine Übersicht über ein selbstorganisiertes Gaststudium an der UZH bietet Ihnen die Website der Zulassungstelle der UZH.

Gaststudium

Für Gaststudierende mit ausländischem Vorbildungsausweis ist die Zulassungsstelle der UZH zuständig.

Zulassungsstelle

Englischsprachige Veranstaltungen an unserer Fakultät

Fünf von sieben Master-Studiengängen werden an unserer Fakultät bereits auf Englisch geführt. Entsprechend werden durchschnittlich knapp 70 Prozent aller Master-Veranstaltungen in Englisch angeboten. Die Bachelor-Studiengänge sind grundsätzlich in Deutsch, wobei auch hier einige Veranstaltungen in Englisch gehalten werden (dieser Anteil ist bei fortgeschritteneren Veranstaltungen eher höher).

English Courses FS18 / HS18 (XLSX, 56 KB)

Bewerbungsverfahren

Die Nominierung erfolgt über die zuständige Stelle an Ihrer Heimuniversität. Sobald Sie erfolgreich bei uns nominiert sind, müssen Sie als nächstes Ihr Bewerbungsdossier zusammenstellen. Je nach Austauschprogramm müssen dabei unterschiedliche Punkte beachtet werden.

Swiss-European Mobility Programme SEMP

Falls Sie über ein SEMP Abkommen an unsere Fakultät kommen möchten, beachten Sie dazu die Informationen auf folgender Website:

Anmeldung SEMP(es sind keine weiteren fachspezifischen Unterlagen einzureichen)

Fakultäts- und Institutsabkommen

Nachdem Sie von Ihrer Heimuniversität nominiert worden sind, müssen Sie sich noch separat an unserer Fakultät bewerben. Nach Eingang der Nominierung erhalten Sie dafür ein E-Mail mit dem Link zum Online-Bewerbungsformular. Füllen Sie das Formular aus und laden Sie die erforderlichen Bewerbungsunterlagen in der Datenbank Mobility Online hoch. Danach erhalten Sie Ihre persönliche Zugangsdaten für den weiteren Bewerbungsprozess.

Erforderliche Bewerbungsunterlagen:

  • CV
  • Kurzes Motivationsschreiben (max. 1A4)
  • Zulassung zum Universitätsstudium
  • Transcript of Records
  • Bachelordiplom für Masterstudierende
  • Englischnachweis Niveau C1 (C1, CAE, TOEFL oder IELTS)
  • Falls vorhanden: Deutschnachweis Niveau B2
  • Passfoto
  • Pass (Identifikationsseite)
  • Visums-Antragsformular (falls nötig)

 Die vollständigen Bewerbungsunterlagen müssen bis spätestens 30. März (Austausch im Herbstsemester oder akademischen Jahr) bzw. bis spätestens 30. September (Austausch im Frühlingssemester) eingereicht werden. Nach erfolgreicher Bewerbung erhalten Sie eine Bestätigung und weitere Informationen per E-Mail. 

Kurswahl und Modulbuchung

Wahl der Veranstaltungen (Module)

Sie wollen wissen, welche Kurse und Veranstaltungen Sie an unserer Fakultät belegen können?

Grundsätzlich stehen Mobilitätsstudierenden, abgesehen von ein paar wenigen Seminaren mit Platzbeschränkungen, sämtliche Module der Bachelor- und Masterstufe unserer Fakultät zur Buchung offen.

Hinweis: Eine Auswertung der Leistungen von Incomings an unserer Fakultät hat ergeben, dass eine grosse Anzahl von Kursen insbesondere des Pflichtprogrammes mit einem Fehlversuch beendet wird. Wir empfehlen Ihnen deshalb dringend, die Kursvoraussetzungen in der Kursbeschreibung des Vorlesungsverzeichnisses genau zu studieren und zu berücksichtigen. Bei Unsicherheiten sollten Sie beim Dozenten nachfragen. Wir raten Ihnen, nicht mehr als 20-30 ECTS Punkte pro Semester zu erwerben. Hilfreich könnte es auch sein, sich im Rahmen des Buddy-Systems über geeignete Kurse für Incomings zu informieren.

Buddy-System des Fachvereins Oekonomie

Unter folgendem Link finden Sie das Kursangebot der Wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Fakultät im Vorlesungsverzeichnis (VVZ).

Kursangebot Wirtschaftswissenschaftliche Fakultät (VVZ).

Folgende Modulkürzel dienen der einfacheren Orientierung im VVZ und bei der Benützung des Modulbuchungstools:

Studienstufe
Modulkürzel Wirtschafts-
wissenschaften
Modulkürzel
Informatik
AssessmentAOECAINF
BachelorBOECBINF
MasterMOECMINF
Master und MSc QFMFOEC -

Anrechnung von Modulen an Ihr Studium an der Heimuniversität

Ob ein bestimmtes Modul als solches für Ihr Studium an Ihrer Heimuniversität anrechenbar ist, müssen Sie mit Ihrer Universität frühzeitig abklären. Die grosse Wahlfreiheit, die Sie bei der Modulbuchung an der UZH haben, bedeutet nicht automatisch, dass die Kurse von Ihrer Heimuniversität auch anerkannt werden. Die Anrechenbarkeit ist vollumfänglich deren Entscheidung. Detaillierte Beschriebe zu den Modulen finden Sie im Vorlesungsverzeichnis der UZH.

Vorlesungsverzeichnis (VVZ)

Buchung der gewählten Veranstaltungen (Modulbuchungstool)

Sie wollen wissen, wie Sie die gewählten Kurse über das Modulbuchungstool buchen und stornieren können?

Damit Sie an einer Prüfung teilnehmen können, müssen Sie ein Modul rechtzeitig innert der im Vorlesungsverzeichnis (VVZ) angegebenen Frist über das Modulbuchungstool buchen oder gegebenenfalls stornieren. Das Buchungstool wird jeweils vier Wochen vor Vorlesungsbeginn geöffnet und schliesst am Ende der vierten Vorlesungswoche. Eine An- oder Abmeldung zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt ist nicht mehr möglich. Vergessen sie also nicht, innerhalb dieser Frist, die Module, bei denen Sie die Prüfung absolvieren wollen, zu buchen und sich von den Modulen abzumelden, die Sie nicht besuchen wollen.

Zu Ihrer Unterstützung finden Sie untenstehend auch eine englische Anleitung zur Modulbuchung:

Anleitung Modulbuchung (Englisch) (PDF, 248 KB)

Leistungsausweis

Am Ende jedes Semesters wird der offizielle Leistungsausweis erstellt und elektronisch verschickt. Er ist auf Deutsch und Englisch verfügbar. Auf dem Leistungsausweis sind automatisch alle bestandenen und nicht bestandenen Kurse ausgewiesen, welche Sie gebucht haben. Fehlversuche werden automatisch und immer auf dem Leistungsausweis ausgewiesen. Auch gebuchte Kurse, die nicht besucht und nicht innert der Buchungsfrist rechtzeitig storniert wurden, sind als Fehlversuche (Note 1) auf dem Leistungsausweis aufgeführt.

Kurse, die am Sprachenzentrum oder an der ETH besucht werden, erscheinen automatisch auf dem Leistungsausweis der UZH.

Internationalen Studierenden ausserhalb Europas wird der Leistungsausweis per Post zugestellt. Da die Leistungsausweise immer an jene Adresse geschickt werden, die Sie in der Kontaktdatenbank der Universität hinterlegt haben, ist die Adresse unbedingt vor der Rückreise über den Online-Service der UZH anzupassen. 

Online-Service UZH

Notensystem der UZH

Die Prüfungsergebnisse an der UZH werden mit den Noten 1-6 bewertet, wobei Zwischenwerte (Viertelnoten) zulässig sind. Den Noten kommen die folgenden Bedeutungen zu:

UZH Noten Bedeutung
   6.00hervorragend
   5.50sehr gut
   5.00gut
   4.50befriedigend
   4.00ausreichend
< 4.00ungenügend