Exclusion from Studies

Students who fail to fulfill the requirements for their program of studies will be excluded from studies. This has a major impact on any other options to study in this program and at our Faculty.

Legal bases

Excerpt from the framework ordinance (RVO16), § 29, para.1: Students who have been irrevocably excluded from studies for failing to adhere to the provisions of this framework ordinance or the program regulations are excluded from all major and minor study programs involving the same academic field of study (either Business and Economics or Informatics).

Excerpt from the program regulations, clause 12: Additionally, students who have been excluded from a study program in the Faculty will not be admitted to any study program in the same academic field of study at the same or a lower level (restriction on admission). In justified individual cases, and subject to a petition being submitted, the examination delegate may approve admission to a minor study program in the other academic field of study.

Reasons for exclusion

Specifically, the following reasons will lead to irrevocable exclusion:

  • Exceeding the maximum permissible number of failed attempts,
  • Failure to meet deadlines,
  • Repeated failure to earn a passing grade for the Bachelor's or Master's thesis.

The exact provisions can be found in the regulations.

Regulations

Effective time of exclusion

Excerpt from the program regulations, clause 12: Students are irrevocably excluded from studies from the point at which they receive the transcript of records, provided that the requirements for irrevocable exclusion from studies have been met. Students who do not receive the transcript of records because they have withdrawn from the university are still considered irrevocably excluded from studies.

As a rule, students who meet the requirements for exclusion from studies upon receipt of the transcript of records will be additionally notified of the exclusion at a later point in time. The exclusion will still be effective without such notice, though.

Dates

Consequences of exclusion

Examples based on the legal bases for continued study at the Faculty of Business, Economics and Informatics:

Example 1: You have been excluded from the Bachelor's degree program in Business and Economics. Admission to a major or minor program in Business and Economics is no longer possible at Bachelor's, Master's, or Doctoral level.

Moreover, admission to the Bachelor's degree program in Informatics is not possible. Admission to a Master's or Doctoral program in Informatics is possible provided that you fulfill the admission criteria.

Admission to the Bachelor's minor program in Informatics might be possible upon petition. Such a petition must be submitted to the examination delegate.

Example 2: You have been excluded from the Master's degree program in Informatics. Admission to a major or minor program in Informatics is no longer possible at Bachelor's, Master's, or Doctoral level.

Moreover, admission to the Bachelor's and Master's degree programs in Business and Economics is not possible. Admission to a Doctoral program in Business and Economics is possible provided that you fulfill the admission criteria.

Admission to a minor program in Business and Economics might be possible upon petition. Such a petition must be submitted to the examination delegate.

Continuation of studies at other higher education institutions

Acceptance for continued study at another higher education institution is conditional upon the relevant provisions of the respective higher education institution. UZH is unable to provide information in this regard.

It is common practice, however, that students excluded from an academic field of study at a higher education institution will not be admitted to the same academic field of study at another higher education institution.

Consequences of exclusion from study at another higher education institution

Students who have been excluded from another higher education institution may not continue their studies in the same academic field of study at the Faculty of Business, Economics and Informatics.

Ausschluss vom Studium

Studierende, welche die Anforderungen ans Studium nicht erfüllen, werden vom Studium ausgeschlossen. Dies hat relativ weitreichende Konsequenzen für die weiteren Studiermöglichkeiten in diesem Fach und an unserer Fakultät.

Rechtliche Grundlagen

Aus der Rahmenverordnung (RVO16) § 29, Abs.1: Wer wegen Nichteinhaltung von Bestimmungen dieser Rahmenverordnung oder der Studienordnung endgültig abgewiesen wird, ist von allen Haupt- und Nebenfachstudienprogrammen mit derselben wissenschaftlichen Ausrichtung (Wirtschaftswissenschaften oder Informatik) an der Fakultät ausgeschlossen.

Aus der Studienordnung, Ziff. 12: Studierende, welche aus einem Studienprogramm der Fakultät ausgeschlossen wurden, sind zudem zu keinem Studienprogramm der Fakultät mit der anderen wissenschaftlichen Ausrichtung derselben oder einer tieferen Stufe mehr zugelassen (Zulassungshindernis). Eine Zulassung zu einem Nebenfachstudienprogramm der anderen wissenschaftlichen Ausrichtung kann in begründeten Einzelfällen auf Gesuch hin durch die Prüfungsdelegierte oder den Prüfungsdelegierten bewilligt werden.

Ausschlussgründe

Eine endgültige Abweisung findet insbesondere aus folgenden Gründen statt:

  • Überschreitung der Anzahl erlaubter Fehlversuche,
  • Nichteinhalten von Fristen,
  • Wiederholtes Nichtbestehen der Abschlussarbeit.

Die genauen Bestimmungen finden Sie in den Reglementen.

Reglemente

Zeitpunkt des Ausschlusses

Aus der Studienordnung, Ziff. 12: Die endgültige Abweisung findet zum Zeitpunkt des Empfangs des Leistungsausweises statt, sofern die entsprechenden Voraussetzungen für eine endgültige Abweisung erfüllt sind. Wer infolge Exmatrikulation den entsprechenden Leistungsausweis nicht erhält, gilt dennoch als endgültig abgewiesen.

Wer mit dem Leistungsausweisversand die Voraussetzungen für einen Ausschluss erfüllt, erhält in der Regel zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt zusätzlich eine separate Information darüber, dass der Ausschluss erfolgt ist. Der Ausschluss gilt allerdings auch dann, wenn keine solche Information erfolgt.

Termine

Folgen des Ausschlusses

Beispiele aufgrund der rechtlichen Grundlagen für das Weiterstudium an der Wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Fakultät:

Beispiel 1: Sie erhalten einen Ausschluss im Bachelorstudiengang Wirtschaftswissenschaften. Es ist keine Zulassung zum Haupt- oder Nebenfach auf Bachelor-, Master- oder Doktoratsstufe in Wirtschaftswissenschaften mehr möglich.

Es ist zudem keine Zulassung zum Bachelorstudiengang in Informatik mehr möglich. Eine Zulassung zur Master- oder Doktoratsstufe in Informatik ist, falls die Zulassungsbedingungen erfüllt werden, möglich.

Eine Zulassung zum Nebenfach auf Bachelorstufe in Informatik ist auf Gesuch hin möglich. Entsprechende Gesuche sind an die oder den Prüfungsdelegierten zu richten.

Beispiel 2: Sie erhalten einen Auschluss im Masterstudiengang Informatik. Es ist keine Zulassung zum Haupt- oder Nebenfach auf Bachelor-, Master-, oder Doktoratsstufe in Informatik mehr möglich.

Eine Zulassung zum Bachelorstudiengang und Masterstudiengang in Wirtschaftswissenschaften ist nicht mehr möglich. Eine Zulassung zum Doktoratsstudium in Wirtschaftswissenschaften ist, falls die Zulassungsbedinungen erfüllt werden, möglich.

Eine Zulassung zum Nebenfachstudium in Wirtschaftswissenschaften ist auf Gesuch hin möglich. Entsprechende Gesuche sind an die oder den Prüfungsdelegierten zu richten.

Weiterstudium an anderer Hochschule

Für die Aufnahme des Weiterstudiums an einer anderen Hochschule sind die entsprechenden Bestimmungen jener Hochschule relevant. Es können dazu keine Informationen gegeben werden.

Es ist allerdings üblich, dass ein Ausschluss aus einer wissenschaftlichen Ausrichtung an einer Hochschule eine Zulassung zu dieser wissenschaftlichen Ausrichtung an einer anderen Hochschule verunmöglicht.

Folgen eines Ausschlusses einer anderen Hochschule

Die Aufnahme des Studiums an der Wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Fakultät mit einem Auschluss einer anderen Hochschule in derselben wissenschaftlichen Ausrichtung ist nicht möglich.