Changing Program during Your Studies

Do you wish to change your major or minor study program? If so, it is worth ascertaining exactly which credits can be transferred in the new combination of major and minor programs, and which failed attempts still count.

Basic information

  1. It is only possible to change to a certain major or minor program if you are not excluded from the program concerned.
    Information on exclusion
  2. It is possible to transfer credits to the new program if they are part of the new program according to the information in the course catalogue.
  3. Deadlines for completing the assessment level or meeting additional requirements and conditions, for example, will usually continue to apply if you change to a different program.
  4. Changing program does not trigger an automatic "restart." It is only possible to apply for a restart in special cases (see below), and this always requires approval.
  5. All failed attempts at modules offered by the Faculty of Business, Economics and Informatics will continue to count, regardless of whether or not the modules can be used in the new program.
  6. The number of permitted failed attempts may differ according to the study program and the combination of study programs. If you change to a combination with a lower number of permitted failed attempts (minor program outside the Faculty), you risk exclusion.

If you are uncertain about particulars in your specific situation, please contact the Dean's Office.

If your situation requires approval, please submit a petition for this to the Dean's Office as part of the semester enrollment process. 

Petitions

Procedure and common cases

The information below describes various common cases in detail. The basic information listed above applies in all cases.

Changing from Business and Economics to Informatics or vice versa (change of degree program)

Example: You wish to change from the Bachelor of Arts UZH in Business and Economics to the Bachelor of Science UZH in Informatics.

If you wish to change from a degree program in Business and Economics to a degree program in Informatics (or vice versa), this is usually possible, but requires approval. It is important to remember that not all minor programs are offered in both degree programs. For this reason, in some cases you may need to select a new minor program in the new degree program.

The following principles apply to individual cases:

Changing before completing the assessment level of the Bachelor's program

You must adhere to the two-year time frame for the assessment level. The deadline is calculated beginning in the semester in which an assessment-level course was first booked at our Faculty. Changing before completing the assessment level is only possible if all coursework in the other degree program can be completed within the required time frame for the assessment level. If you cannot complete the required assessment-level modules for the new degree program within the two-year time frame, you must complete the assessment level for the original degree program and then change.

Changing after completing the assessment level of the Bachelor's program

If you have already successfully completed the assessment level of your original degree program, you will receive the additional requirement to complete any missing assessment-level coursework from your new degree program during the course of your Bachelor's program. Otherwise, any credits earned from coursework in the previous degree program may be transferred to the new one in accordance with the specifications in the course catalogue and all failed attempts at Faculty modules will continue to count.

Changing during the Master's program

If you wish to change your degree program at Master's level, your admission to the new degree program will be reviewed from a subject-specific perspective. This may result in the additional requirements and conditions changing. Otherwise, any credits earned from coursework in the previous degree program may be transferred to the new one in accordance with the specifications in the course catalogue and all failed attempts at Faculty modules will continue to count.

Admission to the Master's program

Changing the major study program (within the same degree program)

Examples: During your Bachelor's program in Business and Economics, you wish to change your major program from Business Administration to Economics. During your Master's program in Informatics, you wish to change your major program from Software Systems to People-Oriented Computing.

At Bachelor's level, it is possible to change the major study program within your degree program without the need for a petition. If Master's students wish to change, admission to the new major program will be subject to a review. This review will be carried out automatically as part of semester enrollment. If necessary, you will receive an amended letter of admission.

Changing the minor study program (within the same degree program)

Example: During your Master's program in Informatics with a major program in Information Systems, you wish to change your minor program from Economics to Data Science.

At both Bachelor's and Master's level, it is possible to change the minor program within your degree program without the need for approval. You are responsible for acquiring any knowledge or skills you may be lacking. It is especially important to do so at Master's level. For this reason, please ensure you read carefully through the requirements in the course catalogue for the minor study program. If you wish to study a minor program outside the Faculty, the requirements defined for that program by the other faculty will apply.

Changing to the Faculty of Business, Economics and Informatics (from a minor program to a major program)

Example: You wish to change from a Bachelor's program in Social Sciences at the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences, with a major program in Political Science and a minor program in Economics, to the Bachelor of Arts in Business and Economics with a major program in Economics and a minor program in History, Society, Politics.

You have studied a minor program at our Faculty up to this point and now wish to change to the Faculty of Business, Economics and Informatics for your major program.

This is permitted in principle, but requires approval. You must obtain approval as part of your semester enrollment by applying for a change to a degree program at the Faculty of Business, Economics and Informatics and selecting the major and minor programs you wish. Upon semester enrollment, you will receive a form from the Student Administration Office with which you can obtain the required approval from the Dean's Office.

In the scope of this approval process, you will also be informed of the completed coursework credits and failed attempts being transferred to the new study programs. The following applies:

  • Fundamentally, students pursuing a major must adhere to the two-year time frame for the assessment level. The deadline is calculated beginning in the semester in which an assessment-level course was first booked at our Faculty. Changing to a degree program at our Faculty and transferring completed coursework credits is only possible if you can meet the two-year deadline for passing the full assessment level. Otherwise, you must restart.
  • A restart is permitted: this means that no coursework credits or failed attempts will be transferred. If you are restarting, you must complete any coursework you have already completed again. Modules that have already been passed but are no longer being credited toward the new program cannot be booked directly. In this case, please contact the Dean's Office.
  • In the case of coursework that has already been completed in a study program offered by another faculty, that faculty is responsible for transferring its credits.

Changing from the Faculty of Business, Economics and Informatics to a different faculty (from a major program to a minor program)

Example: You wish to change from a Bachelor's program in Business and Economics, with a major program in Business Administration and a minor program​ in Biology, to a Biology program at the Faculty of Science with a minor program in Business Administration.

You had previously enrolled in a degree program at the Faculty of Business, Economics and Informatics and now wish to study at another faculty, with only a minor program at the Faculty of Business, Economics and Informatics.

As long as the specifications of the new faculty permit the new combination, it is possible to make this change in principle, but it requires approval. Upon semester enrollment, you will receive a form from the Student Administration Office with which you can obtain the required approval from the Dean's Office. In the scope of this approval process, you will also be informed of the completed coursework credits and failed attempts being transferred to the new study program. The following applies:

  • Please note that credits earned from any extra assessment-level modules in the major program usually cannot be transferred to the minor program at the advanced level.
  • A restart is permitted: this means that no coursework credits or failed attempts will be transferred. If you are restarting, you must complete any coursework you have already completed again. Modules that have already been passed but are no longer being credited toward the new program cannot be booked directly. In this case, please contact the Dean's Office.
  • If a change would result in an exclusion due to the number of failed attempts that have already been undertaken, a restart is necessary.
  • In the case of coursework that has already been completed in a study program offered by another faculty, that faculty is responsible for transferring its credits.

Fachwechsel während des Studiums

Sie möchten Ihr Haupt- oder Nebenfachstudienprogramm ändern? In jedem Fall lohnt es sich, genau abzuklären, welche Leistungen auch in der neuen Haupt- und Nebenfachkombination anrechenbar sind und welche Fehlversuche weiterhin zählen.

Grundsätze

  1. Ein Wechsel in ein bestimmtes Haupt- oder Nebenfachprogramm ist nur möglich, sofern Sie für dieses Programm nicht gesperrt sind.
    Informationen zum Ausschluss
  2. Leistungen können auch im neuen Programm angerechnet werden, sofern sie gemäss Angaben im Vorlesungsverzeichnis auch Bestandteil des neuen Programms sind.
  3. Fristen, beispielsweise für das Absolvieren der Assessmentstufe oder die Erfüllung von Auflagen und Bedingungen, laufen in der Regel bei einem Programmwechsel weiter.
  4. Es erfolgt kein automatischer "Neustart". Ein solcher kann nur in besonderen Fällen (siehe unten) beantragt werden und ist immer bewilligungspflichtig.
  5. Sämtliche Fehlversuche aus Modulen der Wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Fakultät werden weiterhin gezählt, unabhängig von ihrer Verwendbarkeit im neuen Programm.
  6. Die Anzahl erlaubter Fehlversuche kann je nach Studienprogramm und je nach Kombination der Studienprogramme unterschiedlich sein. Bei einem Wechsel in eine Kombination mit weniger Fehlversuchen (fakultätsfremdes Nebenfach) riskieren Sie einen Ausschluss.

Bei Unsicherheiten bezüglich Ihres konkreten Falles wenden Sie sich bitte an das Dekanat.

Sollte in Ihrem Fall eine Bewilligung notwendig sein, reichen Sie dafür im Rahmen der Semestereinschreibung ein entsprechendes Gesuch am Dekanat ein. 

Gesuche

Vorgehen und häufige Fälle

Im Folgenden sind verschiedene häufige Fälle im Detail beschrieben. Obenstehende Grundsätze gelten in allen Fällen.

Wechsel zwischen Wirtschaft und Informatik (Studiengangswechsel)

Beispiel: Sie möchten vom Bachelor of Arts UZH in Wirtschaftswissenschaften in den Bachelor of Science UZH in Informatik wechseln.

Sofern Sie vom Studiengang in Wirtschaftswissenschaften in den Studiengang in Informatik (oder umgekehrt) wechseln wollen, ist dies in der Regel möglich aber bewilligungspflichtig. Beachten Sie, dass nicht alle Nebenfächer in beiden Studiengängen angeboten werden. Sie müssen unter Umständen also im neuen Studiengang auch ein neues Nebenfach wählen.

Folgende Grundsätze gelten in den einzelnen Fällen: 

Wechsel vor Abschluss der Assessmentstufe des Bachelorstudiums

Die Zweijahresfrist der Assessmentstufe ist einzuhalten. Gerechnet wird ab dem Semester, in dem zum ersten Mal eine Assessmentveranstaltung unserer Fakultät gebucht wird. Ein Wechsel vor Abschluss der Assessmentstufe ist nur möglich, wenn alle Leistungen des anderen Studiengangs noch innerhalb der Frist zum Absolvieren der Assessmentstufe erbracht werden können. Ist es Ihnen nicht möglich, die benötigten Module der Assessmentstufe des neuen Studiengangs innerhalb der Zweijahresfrist nachzuholen, ist es notwendig, die Assessmentstufe des ursprünglichen Studiengangs zuerst abzuschliessen und danach zu wechseln.

Wechsel nach Abschluss der Assessmentstufe des Bachelorstudiums

Falls Sie die Assessmentstufe Ihres ursprünglichen Studiengangs bereits erfolgreich abgeschlossen haben, werden Sie die Auflage erhalten, die noch nicht erbrachten Leistungen der Assessmentstufe Ihres neuen Studiengangs im Laufe Ihres Bachelorstudiums nachzuholen. Ansonsten gilt, dass bisher erbrachte Leistungen des alten Studiengangs, gemäss Angaben im Vorlesungsverzeichnis angerechnet werden können und sämtliche Fehlversuche aus Modulen der Fakultät weiterhin zählen.

Wechsel während des Masterstudiums

Bei einem Wechsel des Studiengangs auf Masterstufe wird eine fachwissenschaftliche Zulassungsprüfung für den neuen Studiengang durchgeführt. Entsprechend kann es zu einer Anpassung der Auflagen und Bedingungen kommen. Ansonsten gilt, dass bisher erbrachte Leistungen des alten Studiengangs, gemäss Angaben im Vorlesungsverzeichnis angerechnet werden können und sämtliche Fehlversuche aus Modulen der Fakultät weiterhin zählen.

Masterzulassung

Wechsel des Hauptfachstudienprogramms (innerhalb Studiengang)

Beispiele: Sie möchten im Bachelorstudium der Wirtschaftswissenschaften das Hauptfach von Betriebswirtschaftslehre zu Volkswirtschaftslehre wechseln. Sie möchten im Masterstudium der Informatik das Hauptfach von Software Systems zu People-Oriented Computing wechseln.

Ein Wechsel des Hauptfachstudienprogramms innerhalb des Studiengangs ist auf Bachelorstufe ohne Gesuch möglich. Bei Masterstudierenden wird die Zulassung zum Hauptfach bei einem Wechsel erneut geprüft. Diese Prüfung erfolgt automatisch im Rahmen der Semestereinschreibung. Gegebenenfalls erhalten Sie ein angepasstes Zulassungsschreiben.

Wechsel des Nebenfachstudienprogramms (innerhalb Studiengang)

Beispiel: Sie möchten im Masterstudium der Informatik mit Hauptfach Information Systems das Nebenfach von Economics auf Data Science wechseln. 

Ein Wechsel des Nebenfachprogramms innerhalb des Studiengangs ist sowohl auf Bachelor- als auch Masterstufe ohne Bewilligung möglich. Sie sind selber dafür verantwortlich, allfällige Lücken in den eigenen Kenntnissen und Fertigkeiten zu schliessen. Dies ist insbesondere auf Masterstufe wichtig. Lesen Sie dazu im Vorlesungsverzeichnis die Anforderungen für ein Nebenfachstudienprogramm genau durch. Bei fakultätsfremden Nebenfächern gelten die vom jeweiligen Fach definierten Voraussetzungen.

Wechsel an die Wirtschaftswissenschaftliche Fakultät (vom Nebenfach ins Hauptfach)

Beispiel: Sie möchten vom Bachelorstudium der Sozialwissenschaften an der Philosophischen Fakultät mit Hauptfach Politikwissenschaftslehre und Nebenfach Volkswirtschaftslehre in den Bachelor of Arts in Wirtschaftswissenschaften mit Hauptfach Volkswirtschaftslehre und Nebenfach "Geschichte, Gesellschaft, Politik" wechseln. 

Sie haben bisher in einem Nebenfach an unserer Fakultät studiert und möchten nun für Ihr Hauptfach an die Wirtschaftswissenschaftliche Fakultät wechseln.

Dies ist grundsätzlich erlaubt, aber bewilligungspflichtig. Dafür müssen Sie im Rahmen der Semestereinschreibung einen Wechsel in einen Studiengang an der Wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Fakultät beantragen und ein entsprechendes Haupt- und Nebenfach wählen. Bei der Semestereinschreibung erhalten Sie von der Kanzlei ein Formular, mit welchem Sie sich die entsprechende Bewilligung am Dekanat einholen können.

Im Rahmen dieses Bewilligungsverfahrens werden Sie über die Anrechnung von bisherigen Leistungen und Fehlversuchen an die neuen Studienprogramme informiert. Es gilt Folgendes:

  • Grundsätzlich ist für Hauptfachstudierende die Zweijahresfrist der Assessmentstufe einzuhalten. Gerechnet wird ab dem Semester, in dem zum ersten Mal eine Assessmentveranstaltung unserer Fakultät gebucht wird. Ein Wechsel in den Studiengang an unserer Fakultät, unter Anrechnung der bisherigen Leistungen, ist nur möglich, sofern die Zweijahresfrist für das Bestehen der vollständigen Assessmentstufe noch eingehalten werden kann. Andernfalls ist ein Neustart notwendig.
  • Ein Neustart ist erlaubt. D.h. es werden keinerlei Leistungen oder Fehlversuche angerechnet. Bei einem Neustart müssen bereits erbrachte Leistungen erneut erbracht werden. Die bereits bestandenen aber nicht mehr anrechenbaren Module können nicht direkt gebucht werden. Bitte nehmen Sie in diesem Fall Kontakt mit dem Dekanat auf.
  • Für die Anrechnung von bereits erbrachten Leistungen in einem Studienprogramm einer anderen Fakultät ist die jeweilig anbietende Fakultät zuständig.

Wechsel weg von der Wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Fakultät (vom Hauptfach ins Nebenfach)

Beispiel: Sie möchten vom Bachelorstudium der Wirtschaftswissenschaften mit Hauptfach Betriebswirtschaftslehre und Nebenfach Biologie in ein Studium der Biologie an der Mathematisch-Naturwissenschaftlichen Fakultät mit Nebenfach Betriebswirtschaftslehre wechseln.

Sie waren bisher in einem Studiengang an der Wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Fakultät eingeschrieben und möchten neu an einer anderen Fakultät studieren und nur noch ein Nebenfach der Wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Fakultät belegen. 

Sofern die neue Kombination gemäss den Vorgaben der neuen Fakultät möglich ist, ist ein solcher Wechsel grundsätzlich erlaubt aber bewilligungspflichtig. Bei der Semestereinschreibung erhalten Sie von der Kanzlei ein Formular, mit welchem Sie sich die entsprechende Bewilligung am Dekanat einholen können. Im Rahmen dieses Bewilligungsverfahrens werden Sie über die Anrechnung von bisherigen Leistungen und Fehlversuchen an das neue Studienprogramm informiert. Dabei gilt Folgendes:

  • Beachten Sie, dass überschüssige Module der Assessmentstufe vom Hauptfach in der Regel nicht auf Aufbaustufe im Nebenfach angerechnet werden können.
  • Ein Neustart ist erlaubt. D.h. es werden keinerlei Leistungen oder Fehlversuche angerechnet. Bei einem Neustart müssen bereits erbrachte Leistungen erneut erbracht werden. Die bereits bestandenen aber nicht mehr anrechenbaren Module können nicht direkt gebucht werden. Bitte nehmen Sie in diesem Fall Kontakt mit dem Dekanat auf.
  • Falls durch den Wechsel aufgrund der bereits unternommenen Fehlversuche ein Ausschluss erfolgen würde, ist ein Neustart sogar notwendig.
  • Für die Anrechnung von bereits erbrachten Leistungen in einem Studienprogramm einer anderen Fakultät ist die jeweilig anbietende Fakultät zuständig.