Modules Completed at Other UZH Faculties

UZH students can take advantage of the wide variety of courses UZH offers by attending modules in other subjects and at other faculties. Credits from these modules can usually be transferred to the free elective area of your studies at the Faculty of Business, Economics and Informatics.

Booking modules at other faculties

Provided that the course provider agrees, you may book and attend any modules from the full range that UZH has to offer.

UZH course catalogue

It is important to remember that other faculties will have different booking and cancellation deadlines, and in some cases may even have different repeat regulations for modules. All modules completed at UZH are listed on the transcript of records. However, this in itself does not mean that they can be credited towards the degree.

Faculty booking and cancellation deadlines

Credit transfer eligibility for modules outside the Faculty

All modules offered at UZH are eligible for credit transfer to the free elective area of your studies at the Faculty of Business, Economics and Informatics, provided that they belong to the appropriate degree level and that your study program actually includes a free elective area.

It is important to note the following points:

  • As a general principle, only credits for courses at the same degree level can be transferred: only Bachelor's modules for Bachelor's degree programs and only Master's modules for Master's degree programs.
  • In the course catalogue, the "Component" area indicates whether credits from a module are eligible for transfer. If both Bachelor's degree programs and Master's degree programs are listed in this area, this means that module credits can be transferred to either level.
  • Modules listed under "Further Offers" in the course catalogue and designated as "Lehrveranstaltungen ausserhalb von Studienprogrammen" (Coursework outside of study programs) cannot be transferred towards a degree.

Failed attempts at modules outside the Faculty

During your studies at the Faculty of Business, Economics and Informatics, failed attempts only count if they relate to Faculty modules or modules that are explicitly marked as a component of one of our study programs in the course catalogue.

  • Failed attempts at modules outside the Faculty that are only eligible for credit transfer to the free elective area do not count towards the number of permitted failed attempts at the Faculty of Business, Economics and Informatics.
  • The "Component" area of the course catalogue indicates whether a module outside the Faculty is eligible for credit transfer to a core elective area, a minor area or one of the specific elective areas (OEC, INF or WWF). In all cases, a failed attempt at a module of this kind counts towards the number of permitted failed attempts at the Faculty of Business, Economics and Informatics.

Special provisions for minor programs

Attention: Students taking a major program at our Faculty and a minor program outside the Faculty must pay attention to the regulations governing credit transfer and failed attempts for the minor program.

Attention: Students from other faculties who are taking a minor program at the Faculty of Business, Economics and Informatics may not transfer credits completed outside the Faculty to their minor program at our Faculty.

Fakultätsfremde Module UZH

Studierende an der UZH können vom vielfältigen Kursangebot der UZH profitieren und auch Module anderer Fächer und Fakultäten besuchen. Diese sind in der Regel im freien Wahlbereich an Ihr Studium an der Wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Fakultät anrechenbar.

Buchen von Modulen anderer Fakultäten

Sofern dies der Kursanbieter erlaubt, steht es Ihnen frei, aus dem gesamten Kursangebot  der UZH Module zu buchen und zu belegen.

Vorlesungsverzeichnis der UZH

Beachten Sie dabei, dass andere Fakultäten andere Buchungs- und Stornofristen haben und teilweise auch andere Wiederholungsregelungen für Module. Alle absolvierten Module der UZH werden auf dem Leistungsnachweis aufgeführt. Dies bedeutet nicht, dass sie per se für den Studienabschluss anrechenbar sind. 

Buchungs- und Stornofristen der Fakultäten

Anrechenbarkeit fakultätsfremder Module

Sämtliche an der UZH angebotenen Module sind stufengerecht im freien Wahlbereich an Ihr Studium an der Wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Fakultät anrechenbar, sofern Ihr Studienprogramm über einen freien Wahlbereich verfügt. 

Zu beachten sind folgende Punkte:

  • Anrechenbar sind grundsätzlich nur Veranstaltungen auf gleicher Stufe, d.h. im Bachelorstudiengang nur Bachelormodule und auf Masterstufe nur Mastermodule.
  • Die Anrechenbarkeit eines Moduls ist im Vorlesungsverzeichnis unter dem Punkt „Teil von“ ersichtlich. Werden unter diesem Punkt sowohl Bachelor- als auch Masterstudiengänge aufgezählt, ist das Modul auf beiden Stufen anrechenbar.
  • Module mit der Bezeichnung "Lehrveranstaltungen ausserhalb von Studienprogrammen" (im Vorlesungsverzeichnis unter "Weitere Angebote" aufgeführt) können nicht an den Studienabschluss angerechnet werden.

Fehlversuche aus fakultätsfremden Modulen

Für Ihr Studium an der Wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Fakultät werden nur Fehlversuche aus Modulen der Fakultät und aus Modulen, welche im Vorlesungsverzeichnis explizit als Teil eines unserer Studienprogramme gekennzeichnet sind, gezählt.

  • Fehlversuche in fakultätsfremden Modulen, welche nur im freien Wahlbereich anrechenbar sind, zählen an der Wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Fakultät nicht zur Anzahl erlaubter Fehlversuche.
  • Kann ein fakultätsfremdes Modul in einem Wahlpflicht- oder Nebenfachbereich oder im Wahlbereich OEC, INF oder WWF angerechnet werden, ist dies im Vorlesungsverzeichnis unter "Teil von" ersichtlich. Ein Fehlversuch in einem solchen Modul zählt für alle zur Anzahl der erlaubten Fehlversuche an der Wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Fakultät.

Sonderregeln bei Nebenfächern

Achtung: Studierende mit einem Hauptfach an unserer Fakultät und einem fakultätsfremden Nebenfach müssen in Bezug auf Anrechnung und Fehlversuche die Regeln des entsprechenden Nebenfachs berücksichtigen.

Achtung: Studierende anderer Fakultäten, welche ein Nebenfach an der Wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Fakultät besuchen, können keine fakultätsfremden Module im Nebenfach an unserer Fakultät anrechnen.