Master's Admission in Business and Economics

The Faculty of Business, Economics and Informatics observes an open, quality-focused admissions policy based on the admissions regulations of UZH as well as its own regulations and practices. The information below gives you an indication of which categorization to expect.

Graduate Management Admission Test / Graduate Record Examination

Students are strongly encouraged to submit GMAT (Graduate Management Admission Test) or GRE (Graduate Record Examination) scores. With a good GMAT/GRE score, graduates of a university of applied sciences and applicants from universities outside Switzerland, in particular, generally place higher.

GMAT/GRE scores can only be submitted as part of the application; scores that are submitted at a later point will not be considered.

Last year the average GMAT score of students who were admitted directly to the Master's program was 660.

Additional information on the GMAT

GRE scores will be converted to GMAT scores.

Prior university studies in business and economics

Bachelor's degree from a Swiss university:

Holders of a Bachelor's degree from a Swiss university will be categorized into the Master's program in the same specialization as their Bachelor's degree without additional conditions (although additional requirements may apply).

Bachelor's degrees from universites in accordance with the Lisbon Convention:

The same requirements apply as for graduates of Swiss universities. The categorization is based on an evaluation of the curriculum of the program of studies completed. If the curriculum deviates in subject-specific areas, additional requirements or conditions (typically 60 ECTS credits) must be completed. Applicants may be categorized into the Bachelor's program.

We strongly encourage applicants to submit GMAT/GRE scores, as this facilitates the evaluation of the applicant's knowledge in the areas of specialization.

Other degrees

Applicants holding degrees that do not fall under the Lisbon Convention are strongly encouraged to submit GMAT/GRE scores along with their application, as this is the only way we can evaluate their knowledge in subject-specific areas. Applicants may be categorized into any level.

Application

Degree in business and economics from a university of applied sciences

Applicants holding a degree from a university of applied sciences who meet the admission requirements of UZH are generally not able to enter the Master's programs directly. Experience has shown that knowledge and skills are lacking equivalent to more than 60 ECTS credits.

The decision is based on an evaluation of the curriculum of the program of studies completed. These applicants are generally categorized into the Bachelor's program, where they must typically complete 90 of the 180 ECTS credits from the Bachelor's program.

We highly recommend that GMAT/GRE scores be submitted, as this facilitates the evaluation of the applicant's knowledge in the areas of specialization.

Attention: Please note that graduates of a university of applied sciences must have earned an overall grade of 5.0 or B in a Bachelor's program in order to study at the Master's level at UZH.

Application

Bachelor's minor degree in business and economics

Graduates with a minor degree comprising 60 ECTS credits in a specialization in business and economics may apply for the Master's program majoring in the same specialization. Applicants are admitted with additional requirements (all courses from the assessment level and the common compulsory program at the Bachelor's level must be completed).

All other graduates with minor degrees and sub-disciplines are considered as applicants who have completed prior studies in other fields (see next section, below).

Application

Prior studies in other fields

An effort is also made to admit applicants with a university degree from fields other than business and economics, provided they have sufficient basic knowledge in the areas of specialization.

Applicants may be placed at any level. Submission of GMAT/GRE scores is absolutely required in order to be assigned to a level higher than the assessment level.

Application

Masterzulassung Wirtschaftswissenschaften

Die Wirtschaftswissenschaftliche Fakultät verfolgt eine offene und qualitätsorientierte Zulassungspolitik basierend auf der Zulassungsverordnung der UZH sowie den eigenen Reglementen und Praxis. Die untenstehenden Informationen geben Ihnen einen Anhaltspunkt, mit welcher Einstufung Sie zu rechnen haben.

Graduate Management Admission Test / Graduate Record Examination

Grundsätzlich wird Studierenden empfohlen, einen Graduate Management Admission Test (GMAT) oder einen Graduate Record Examination (GRE) einzureichen. Insbesondere Fachhoschulabsolventinnen und -absolventen und Bewerbende von Universitäten aus dem Ausland stellen sich mit einem guten Resultat in der Regel besser.

Ein GMAT/GRE kann nur direkt bei der Bewerbung berücksichtigt werden, eine Nachreichung ist nicht möglich.

Im letzten Jahr lag der durchschnittliche GMAT-Score von Studierenden, die direkt zum Master zugelassen wurden, bei 660 Punkten.

Weitere Informationen zum GMAT

Die Resultate eines GRE werden zu GMAT-Scores umgerechnet.

Universitäre Vorbildung in Wirtschaftswissenschaften

Bachelorabschluss an einer Schweizer Universität

Inhaberinnen und Inhaber eines schweizerischen universitären Bachelordiploms werden in der gleichen Studienrichtung, in welcher der Bachelor abgeschlossen wurde, ohne weitere Bedingungen (aber allenfalls mit Auflagen) ins Masterstudium eingestuft.

Universitäre Bachelorabschlüsse gemäss Lissabonner Konvention

Es werden die gleichen Anforderungen vorausgesetzt wie für Absolventinnen und Absolventen von Schweizer Universitäten. Die Einstufung beruht auf der Prüfung des Curriculums des absolvierten Studiums. Bei fachwissenschaftlich abweichendem Curriculum sind Auflagen oder Bedingungen (in der Regel 60 ECTS Credits) zu erfüllen. Teilweise erfolgt eine Einstufung ins Bachelorstudium.

Wir empfehlen dringend, einen GMAT/GRE einzureichen, da so eine leichtere Einschätzung der fachwissenschaftlichen Kenntnisse möglich ist.

Weitere Abschlüsse

Bewerberinnen und Bewerbern mit Abschlüssen, die nicht unter die Lissabonner Konvention fallen, empfehlen wir dringend, einen GMAT/GRE einzureichen, da nur so eine Einschätzung der fachwissenschaftlichen Kenntnisse möglich ist. Grundsätzlich ist jede Einstufung möglich.

Zur Bewerbung

Fachhochschulabschluss in Wirtschaftswissenschaften

Für Fachhoschulabsolventinnen und -absolventen ist ein direkter Einstieg in die Masterstudiengänge in der Regel nicht möglich. Erfahrungsgemäss fehlen Kenntnisse und Fähigkeiten im Umfang von mehr als 60 ECTS Credits.

Der Bescheid beruht auf der Prüfung des Curriculums des absolvierten Studiums. Die Einstufung erfolgt in der Regel in das Bachelorstudium, wobei üblicherweise noch 90 der 180 ECTS Credits des Bachelorstudiums absolviert werden müssen.

Wir empfehlen dringend einen GMAT/GRE einzureichen, da so eine leichtere Einschätzung der fachwissenschaftlichen Kenntnisse möglich ist.

Achtung: Zu beachten ist, dass Fachhoschulabsolventinnen und -absolventen für ein Masterstudium an der UZH mindestens die Gesamtnote 5.0 oder B beim Bachelorabschluss FH vorweisen müssen.

Zur Bewerbung

Bachelor-Nebenfachabschluss in Wirtschaftswissenschaften

Absolventinnen und Absolventen eines Nebenfachstudienprogramms im Umfang von 60 ECTS Credits der Wirtschaftswissenschaften haben die Möglichkeit, sich für das Masterhauptfach mit dem gleichen Studienfach zu bewerben. Die Einstufung erfolgt mit Auflagen: Alle Kurse der Assessmentstufe und des gemeinsamen Pflichtprogramms der Bachelorstufe müssen erfüllt sein.

Für alle anderen Nebenfach- oder Teilfachabsolventinnen und -absolventen gelten dieselben Bestimmungen wie für Bewerberinnen und Bewerber mit fachfremder Vorbildung (siehe nächster Punkt). 

Zur Bewerbung

Fachfremde Vorbildung

Angestrebt wird, auch fachfremde Bewerbende mit einem universitären Abschluss zuzulassen, sofern sie über ausreichende fachwissenschaftliche Grundvoraussetzungen verfügen.

Grundsätzlich ist jede Einstufung möglich. Die Einreichung eines GMAT/GRE ist zwingend erforderlich, wenn eine Einstufung höher als im Assessment erfolgen soll.

Zur Bewerbung